Data

HiBob and the GDPR: AI training, data location and DPA

Bob platform, quote-based: Doesn't train on your data. EU hosting not documented · DPA on request.

Vendor: Hi Bob Ltd. (HiBob; the contracting entity varies by region)Documents, HR and financeChecked on How we check

Verdict

Is HiBob GDPR compliant?

Bob platform, quote-based

Business

Doesn't train on your data

EU hosting not documented · DPA on request

Price: Quote only

No tool is GDPR compliant on its own: that depends on how your business uses it. This page shows the vendor's side, from its own pages. It is not legal advice.

Training

Does HiBob train on your data?

Trains on your data by default?

Checked

Doesn't train on your data.

No. HiBob states customer data processed by its AI features is not used to train AI models, and its AI service providers may not train their models on it.

Vendor's wording: “Customer Data processed by HiBob AI Features is not used to train artificial intelligence models.”

Source: hibob.com2. Data Usage and PrivacyChecked on

Location

Where does HiBob store your data?

Where data is stored by default

Checked

EU: Amazon Web Services data centres in Ireland (main) with Germany (backup).

Vendor's wording: “HiBob uses AWS data centers in Ireland (main) and Germany (backup).”

Source: hibob.comWhat is HiBob doing to meet security standards? Data Hosting LocationChecked on

EU hosting on this plan

Checked

EU hosting not documented.

Hosting is in the EU by default (AWS Ireland and Germany), and the sub-processor list shows EU processing locations; no separate EU setting or non-EU region choice is described.

Vendor's wording: “HiBob uses AWS data centers in Ireland (main) and Germany (backup).”

Source: hibob.comData Hosting LocationChecked on

Contract

Does HiBob sign a data processing agreement?

Data processing agreement (DPA)

Checked

DPA on request.

Yes. A Data Processing Addendum is an integral part of the Subscription Terms, pre-signed by HiBob and available for counter-signature by the customer.

Vendor's wording: “This Data Protection Addendum has been pre-signed by an authorized signatory on behalf of HiBob and is available for execution by counter-signature”

Source: hibob.comData Processing AddendumChecked on

Processors

Who else handles HiBob data?

Sub-processors (companies that handle the data for them)

Checked

Published.

Yes, public at https://www.hibob.com/privacy/hibob-subsidiaries-and-sub-processors/ (Nov 2025): 8 group affiliates and 23 third-party rows (19 companies) across core, optional and module-specific lists. AI providers named: OpenAI, Microsoft (Azure OpenAI), Amazon Web Services (hosted AI models).

Vendor's wording: “The following tables provide information regarding HiBob’s corporate affiliates and third-party Sub-processors that may have access to Personal Data”

Source: hibob.comHiBob Subsidiaries and Sub-ProcessorsChecked on

EU–US Data Privacy Framework

Checked

On the list.

Active (Hibob; EU-US DPF, Swiss-US DPF, UK Extension)

Source: dataprivacyframework.govSearch 'Hi Bob'Checked on

Retention

How long does HiBob keep your data?

How long data is kept

Checked

Customer data sent to AI providers is not stored or logged. After the contract ends HiBob deletes personal data of authorised users within 30 days, and the customer can request a copy within 14 days of termination. In-term retention periods not stated.

Vendor's wording: “HiBob shall in accordance with its DPA, delete Personal Data held about any Authorized User within thirty (30) days from the date of termination.”

Source: hibob.com12.4 Effects of TerminationChecked on

Security

Which certifications and admin controls does HiBob have?

Security certifications

Checked

ISO 27001, ISO 27018, ISO 42001, SOC 1 Type 2 and SOC 2 Type 2 (5 named); HIPAA and GDPR compliance also listed.

Vendor's wording: “HiBob follows industry best practices, including ISO 27001, ISO27018, ISO42001, HIPAA, GDPR, SOC2 type 2, and SOC1 type 2”

Source: hibob.comEncryption at every stepChecked on

Admin controls for AI

Checked

Yes. Admins can selectively disable or enable AI features through the AI Settings page and restrict access to specific features by role.

Vendor's wording: “Admins can selectively disable or enable features through the AI Settings page.”

Source: hibob.comOpt-out control for AI featuresChecked on

The vendor doesn't say: price.

Alternatives

HiBob alternatives that don't train on your data

Other documents, hr and finance tools whose business plan doesn't train on your data and includes a DPA.

The five marks, in order: No AI training · EU hosting · DPA · Sub-processors listed · DPF or EU vendor. ✓ meets it, ✕ doesn't, – partly, ? not stated.

Tool · PlanVerdictYour five rules
  • iLovePDF

    Premium · €5 / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA on request

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Pleo

    Build · €14 / user / mo

    Says it doesn't train on your dataData in the EU by default · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Teamtailor

    subscription by quote · Quote only

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Tellent Recruitee

    Advance · See details

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Candis

    Basis · From €389 / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataNo EU hosting · DPA in the terms

    ✓✕✓✓✓

Need something your tools can't do?

We design and build what your team is missing, around the way you already work and the data rules you set.