Data

Lexware Office and the GDPR: AI training, data location and DPA

M: Doesn't train on your data. EU hosting not documented · DPA in the terms.

Vendor: Haufe Service Center GmbH (Lexware)Documents, HR and financeChecked on How we check

Verdict

Is Lexware Office GDPR compliant?

M

Business

Doesn't train on your data

EU hosting not documented · DPA in the terms

Price: €12.90 / mo

No tool is GDPR compliant on its own: that depends on how your business uses it. This page shows the vendor's side, from its own pages. It is not legal advice.

Training

Does Lexware Office train on your data?

Trains on your data by default?

Checked

Doesn't train on your data.

No. The terms for the AI functions state that input and output are not used for training.

Vendor's wording: “Eine Nutzung des Inputs oder Outputs zu Trainingszwecken findet nicht statt.”

Source: agb.lexware.de2.3 Vertragsgemäße Nutzung von KI-FunktionenChecked on

Location

Where does Lexware Office store your data?

Where data is stored by default

Vendor says

Germany: high-security data centres in the Frankfurt area, ISO 27001 certified.

Vendor's wording: “Deine Daten liegen in deutschen Hochsicherheits-Rechenzentren im Großraum Frankfurt, zertifiziert nach ISO 27001.”

Source: office.lexware.deFAQ: Wie sicher sind meine Daten?Checked on

EU hosting on this plan

Vendor says

EU hosting not documented.

Hosting is in Germany for all customers according to the product page; no separate EU setting is needed or described.

Vendor's wording: “Entwicklung, Hosting und Datenschutz komplett aus Deutschland: Deine Daten sind bestens aufgehoben.”

Source: office.lexware.deZertifikate: Daten in DeutschlandChecked on

Contract

Does Lexware Office sign a data processing agreement?

Data processing agreement (DPA)

Checked

DPA in the terms.

Yes. Lexware says it has concluded a contract for data processing (Art. 28 GDPR) with the customer, binding it to use the data only for the software modules and not to pass it on.

Vendor's wording: “Der Kunde und wir haben hierzu einen Vertrag zur Auftragsverarbeitung geschlossen”

Source: datenschutz.lexware.de1. Wer sind wirChecked on

Processors

Who else handles Lexware Office data?

EU–US Data Privacy Framework

Checked

EU or Swiss vendor.

Not applicable (EU-based vendor, Haufe Service Center GmbH, Freiburg, Germany)

Vendor's wording: “Haufe Service Center GmbH Munzinger Straße 9 79111 Freiburg”

Source: datenschutz.lexware.de1. Wer sind wir und wie können Sie uns erreichen?Checked on

Retention

How long does Lexware Office keep your data?

How long data is kept

Checked

When you cancel, Lexware fully deletes the account and any data you have not saved yourself, and warns you before deletion. Retention of AI inputs is not stated.

Vendor's wording: “Nicht durch Sie gesicherte Daten gehen bei der Kündigung verloren, da wir Ihr Lexware Office Nutzerkonto vollständig löschen.”

Source: agb.lexware.de12.5 Löschung Ihrer Daten in Ihrem Lexware Office NutzerkontoChecked on

Security

Which certifications and admin controls does Lexware Office have?

Security certifications

Vendor says

ISO 27001 for the data centres (1 named); the product page also cites TÜV-checked security and GoBD certification for the bookkeeping.

Vendor's wording: “Deine Daten liegen in deutschen Hochsicherheits-Rechenzentren im Großraum Frankfurt, zertifiziert nach ISO 27001.”

Source: office.lexware.deFAQ: Wie sicher sind meine Daten?Checked on

Price

What does Lexware Office cost?

Price, as shown in Germany

Checked

€12.90 / mo.

€12.90 per month excl. VAT for version M (offers, e-invoices, reminders), cancellable monthly; a discounted €6.45 is shown for a 3-month introductory period. Flat per account, not per user.

Vendor's wording: “Alle Preise pro Monat, zzgl. MwSt. Monatlich kündbar.”

Source: office.lexware.deVersion MChecked on

The vendor doesn't say: sub-processors, admin controls.

Alternatives

Lexware Office alternatives that don't train on your data

Other documents, hr and finance tools whose business plan doesn't train on your data and includes a DPA.

The five marks, in order: No AI training · EU hosting · DPA · Sub-processors listed · DPF or EU vendor. ✓ meets it, ✕ doesn't, – partly, ? not stated.

Tool · PlanVerdictYour five rules
  • iLovePDF

    Premium · €5 / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA on request

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Pleo

    Build · €14 / user / mo

    Says it doesn't train on your dataData in the EU by default · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Teamtailor

    subscription by quote · Quote only

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Tellent Recruitee

    Advance · See details

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Candis

    Basis · From €389 / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataNo EU hosting · DPA in the terms

    ✓✕✓✓✓

Need something your tools can't do?

We design and build what your team is missing, around the way you already work and the data rules you set.