Data

Photoroom Pro and the GDPR: AI training, data location and DPA

: Trains on your data unless you switch it off. No EU hosting · no DPA.

Vendor: Photoroom SASDesign, images and videoChecked on How we check

Verdict

Is Photoroom Pro GDPR compliant?

Business

Trains on your data unless you switch it off

No EU hosting · no DPA

Price: See details

No tool is GDPR compliant on its own: that depends on how your business uses it. This page shows the vendor's side, from its own pages. It is not legal advice.

Training

Does Photoroom Pro train on your data?

Trains on your data by default?

Checked

Trains on your data unless you switch it off.

Yes, unless the account opt-out is used: Photoroom uses uploaded content to improve, train and develop its products. API images are treated differently (privacy policy excludes them; the security page says self-serve API plans train by default).

Vendor's wording: “By using the Services, you acknowledge and expressly authorize Photoroom to use User Content to improve, train and develop Photoroom’s products and services.”

Source: photoroom.com2.2.c License to User ContentChecked on

Switch-off

How do you turn off AI training in Photoroom Pro?

How to switch training off

Checked

You can switch the training off.

In the app, go to account settings and use Data Control to opt out. It is not retroactive.

Vendor's wording: “You can opt-out of this at any time by changing the settings on your account in the app under Data Control.”

Source: photoroom.com2.2.c License to User ContentChecked on

Location

Where does Photoroom Pro store your data?

Where data is stored by default

Checked

United States: Photoroom says its infrastructure runs in the US (hosted on Google Cloud and AWS).

Vendor's wording: “Our infrastructure runs in the United States.”

Source: photoroom.com04 Hosting regionChecked on

EU hosting on this plan

Checked

No EU hosting.

No: Photoroom states EU-only data residency is not available today.

Vendor's wording: “EU-only data residency isn't available today.”

Source: photoroom.com04 Hosting regionChecked on

Contract

Does Photoroom Pro sign a data processing agreement?

Data processing agreement (DPA)

Checked

No DPA.

Not described for Pro. The security page says a DPA is available for Enterprise customers through the account team.

Vendor's wording: “A Data Processing Agreement is available for Enterprise customers through your account team.”

Source: photoroom.comFAQ: Is Photoroom GDPR-compliant? And is a DPA available?Checked on

Processors

Who else handles Photoroom Pro data?

EU–US Data Privacy Framework

Checked

EU or Swiss vendor.

Not applicable (EU-based vendor, Photoroom SAS, Paris, France)

Vendor's wording: “Photoroom, a French joint stock company having its head office located 229 rue Saint-Honoré”

Source: photoroom.comIntroduction (publisher)Checked on

Retention

How long does Photoroom Pro keep your data?

How long data is kept

Checked

Account data is kept until you delete the account or up to 2 years after your last login, then archived for 5 years. How long uploaded images are kept in the app is not stated.

Vendor's wording: “Until the account is deleted by you or up to a period of 2 years from your last connection to your account”

Source: photoroom.com3. Purposes, retention table (account management)Checked on

Security

Which certifications and admin controls does Photoroom Pro have?

Security certifications

Checked

1: SOC 2 Type 2, but scoped to the API service only (report April 2026); nothing stated for the app plan. The Trust Center needs a browser.

Vendor's wording: “Photoroom holds a SOC 2 Type 2 attestation scoped to our API service.”

Source: photoroom.comFAQ: Is Photoroom SOC 2 certified?Checked on

The vendor doesn't say: sub-processors, admin controls, price.

Alternatives

Photoroom Pro alternatives that don't train on your data

Other design, images and video tools whose business plan doesn't train on your data and includes a DPA.

The five marks, in order: No AI training · EU hosting · DPA · Sub-processors listed · DPF or EU vendor. ✓ meets it, ✕ doesn't, – partly, ? not stated.

Tool · PlanVerdictYour five rules
  • Canva

    Business · €170 / user / yr

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting only on higher plans · DPA on request

    ✓✕✓✓✓

  • remove.bg

    monthly subscription · See details

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting not documented · DPA in the terms

    ✓?✓✓✓

  • Synthesia

    Pro · $89 / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataNo EU hosting · DPA on request

    ✓✕✓✓✓

  • VEED

    Business · See details

    Doesn't train on your dataData in the EU by default · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓?✓

  • Gamma

    Business · €35 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting not documented · DPA in the terms

    ✓?✓✓✕

If no plan gives you the training default or data location you need, the tool may not be the right fit. We design and build what your team is missing around your own rules, and keep it running after launch.

See what we build

Need something your tools can't do?

We design and build what your team is missing, around the way you already work and the data rules you set.