Data

Jasper and the GDPR: AI training, data location and DPA

Pro: Trains on your data, with no documented way to stop it. EU hosting not documented · DPA in the terms.

Vendor: Jasper AI, Inc.AssistantsChecked on How we check

Verdict

Is Jasper GDPR compliant?

Pro

Business

Trains on your data, with no documented way to stop it

EU hosting not documented · DPA in the terms

Price: $59 / user / mo

No tool is GDPR compliant on its own: that depends on how your business uses it. This page shows the vendor's side, from its own pages. It is not legal advice.

Training

Does Jasper train on your data?

Trains on your data by default?

Checked

Trains on your data, with no documented way to stop it.

Yes: the Terms of Service let Jasper use inputs and outputs to develop and enhance its own AI models; users in the EU or UK can object by emailing legal@jasper.ai.

Vendor's wording: “Jasper uses Customer Property, including Input and Output, to provide, maintain, and improve the Services, including for the purpose of developing and enhancing Jasper’s artificial intelligence models.”

Source: jasper.aiSection on use of Customer Property (before section 12)Checked on

Location

Where does Jasper store your data?

Where data is stored by default

Checked

United States (US-based data centres).

Vendor's wording: “Customer data is hosted in US-based data centers and encrypted in transit”

Source: jasper.aiPricing page FAQ on securityChecked on

Contract

Does Jasper sign a data processing agreement?

Data processing agreement (DPA)

Checked

DPA in the terms.

Yes. A public DPA with EU Standard Contractual Clauses exists; customers email legal@jasper.ai to enter into it. Not stated whether Pro includes it automatically.

Vendor's wording: “If you are a Jasper customer and wish to enter into our DPA available at legal.jasper.ai/#dpa, please email us at legal@jasper.ai.”

Source: jasper.aiIntro text above the sub-processor tableChecked on

Processors

Who else handles Jasper data?

Sub-processors (companies that handle the data for them)

Checked

Published.

Yes: https://www.jasper.ai/legal/sub-processors, 31 entries (all US). AI providers listed: Anthropic, Cohere, Google Gemini, OpenAI, marked as optional agentic features.

Vendor's wording: “to provide the actual list of third-party sub-processors used by Jasper as of the date of this advisory”

Source: jasper.aiSub-Processors page, Contractual Safeguards and tableChecked on

EU–US Data Privacy Framework

Checked

Not listed.

No listing found for search term 'Jasper AI'

Source: dataprivacyframework.govSearch 'Jasper AI' returned 'Query returned no results'Checked on

Retention

How long does Jasper keep your data?

How long data is kept

Checked

Under the DPA, data is kept only as long as the customer considers necessary; on termination or written request Jasper destroys or returns it. No fixed number of days is given.

Vendor's wording: “Processor will retain Controller Data only for as long as the Customer deems it necessary for the Permitted Purpose, or as required by Applicable Data Protection Law.”

Source: jasper.aiDPA section 4.3 RetentionChecked on

Security

Which certifications and admin controls does Jasper have?

Security certifications

Checked

SOC 2 Type II (1 certification). GDPR, CCPA and PCI are named as compliance, with no ISO certificate.

Vendor's wording: “Jasper is SOC 2 Type II certified and complies with GDPR, CCPA, PCI, and DPA requirements”

Source: jasper.aiPricing page FAQ on securityChecked on

The vendor doesn't say: EU hosting, admin controls, price.

Alternatives

Jasper alternatives that don't train on your data

Other assistants tools whose business plan doesn't train on your data and includes a DPA.

The five marks, in order: No AI training · EU hosting · DPA · Sub-processors listed · DPF or EU vendor. ✓ meets it, ✕ doesn't, – partly, ? not stated.

Tool · PlanVerdictYour five rules
  • Langdock

    Business · €29.00 / user / mo

    Says it doesn't train on your dataData in the EU by default · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Microsoft 365 Copilot

    Business add-on · €18.20 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataData in the EU by default · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • nele.ai

    usage-based credit subscription · See details

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA on request

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Proton Lumo

    Professional · €11.99 / user / mo

    Says it doesn't train on your dataData in the EU (vendor says) · DPA on request

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Gemini in Google Workspace

    Business Standard · €13.60 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataLimited EU hosting · DPA in the terms

    ✓–✓✓✓

If no plan gives you the training default or data location you need, the tool may not be the right fit. We design and build what your team is missing around your own rules, and keep it running after launch.

See what we build

Need something your tools can't do?

We design and build what your team is missing, around the way you already work and the data rules you set.