Data

ProWritingAid and the GDPR: AI training, data location and DPA

Premium: Doesn't train on your data. EU hosting not documented · DPA not stated.

Vendor: Orpheus Technology Ltd (ProWritingAid)Writing and emailChecked on How we check

Verdict

Is ProWritingAid GDPR compliant?

Premium

Personal

Doesn't train on your data

EU hosting not documented · DPA not stated

Price: €10.00 / user / mo

No tool is GDPR compliant on its own: that depends on how your business uses it. This page shows the vendor's side, from its own pages. It is not legal advice.

Training

Does ProWritingAid train on your data?

Trains on your data by default?

Checked

Doesn't train on your data.

No: terms say your texts are not used to improve the services and are deleted after checking. It trains only on texts corrected by its own copyeditors.

Vendor's wording: “When using ProWritingAid, your texts will not be used to improve the quality of our services.”

Source: prowritingaid.com4.1 (content use)Checked on

Location

Where does ProWritingAid store your data?

Where data is stored by default

Checked

United Kingdom, plus other countries where its service providers operate, including the EEA and the United States.

Vendor's wording: “Your personal data is stored and processed in the United Kingdom and in other countries where our service providers operate, including the European Economic Area and the United States.”

Source: prowritingaid.comWhere is my Information stored?Checked on

EU hosting on this plan

Vendor says

EU hosting not documented.

Business page says EU and US hosting options on Microsoft Azure for its business offer; no setting is described for Premium.

Vendor's wording: “ProWritingAid partners with Microsoft Azure on EU and US servers so you know exactly where your data is processed.”

Source: prowritingaid.comEU and US hosting optionsChecked on

Contract

Does ProWritingAid sign a data processing agreement?

Data processing agreement (DPA)

Vendor says

DPA not stated.

Offered to enterprise customers on the business page; not stated for the Premium plan.

Vendor's wording: “For enterprise customers, we offer data processing agreements as well as SSO logins and access control.”

Source: prowritingaid.comDPA and SSO enterprise optionsChecked on

Processors

Who else handles ProWritingAid data?

EU–US Data Privacy Framework

Checked

UK (EU adequacy).

Not applicable (UK-based vendor, Orpheus Technology Ltd, London)

Vendor's wording: “These Terms are between you ("you") and Orpheus Technology Ltd ("Orpheus", "we" or "us").”

Source: prowritingaid.com1.2 PartiesChecked on

Retention

How long does ProWritingAid keep your data?

How long data is kept

Checked

Text is kept only while it is analysed (seconds) except documents you save in the Web Editor. After you cancel, files are marked for deletion and deleted after 60 days.

Vendor's wording: “Upon canceling your account, your files will be marked for deletion in sixty days, and will be deleted upon expiration of that sixty-day period.”

Source: prowritingaid.com7.1 Canceling your accountChecked on

Security

Which certifications and admin controls does ProWritingAid have?

Security certifications

Checked

1 named: SOC 2 (Security), assessed by third-party auditors. No ISO certification named.

Vendor's wording: “We engage with third party auditors to assess our SOC 2 Security compliance.”

Source: prowritingaid.comCompliance StandardsChecked on

Admin controls for AI

Checked

Individual users can switch Sparks (generative AI) off; no organisation-wide admin switch is stated for Premium, which is licensed per individual.

Vendor's wording: “If you don’t want to use Sparks, you can turn the feature off.”

Source: help.prowritingaid.comHow does Sparks use generative AI?Checked on

Price

What does ProWritingAid cost?

Price, as shown in Germany

Checked

€10.00 / user / mo.

€10.00 per user/month billed yearly (€120 per year); €30 per month billed monthly. VAT not shown. Individual licence.

Vendor's wording: “€10.00 per month, billed yearly €120”

Source: prowritingaid.comPremium card, yearly billingChecked on

The vendor doesn't say: sub-processors.

Alternatives

ProWritingAid alternatives that don't train on your data

Other writing and email tools whose business plan doesn't train on your data and includes a DPA.

The five marks, in order: No AI training · EU hosting · DPA · Sub-processors listed · DPF or EU vendor. ✓ meets it, ✕ doesn't, – partly, ? not stated.

Tool · PlanVerdictYour five rules
  • Gmail with Gemini

    Google Workspace Business Standard · See details

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Google Translate in Google Workspace

    Business Standard · €13.60 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • LanguageTool

    Team · €56.90 / user / yr

    Doesn't train on your dataData in the EU by default · DPA on request

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Azure Translator

    S1 pay as you go · See details

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓?✓

  • Hunter

    Growth · See details

    Doesn't train on your dataData in the EU by default · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✕

Need something your tools can't do?

We design and build what your team is missing, around the way you already work and the data rules you set.