Data

TypingMind Teams and the GDPR: AI training, data location and DPA

Professional: Doesn't train on your data. EU hosting available · DPA on request.

Vendor: Typing Technology Co. Ltd. (TypingMind)AssistantsChecked on How we check

Verdict

Is TypingMind Teams GDPR compliant?

Professional

Business

Doesn't train on your data

EU hosting available · DPA on request

Price: $249 / mo

No tool is GDPR compliant on its own: that depends on how your business uses it. This page shows the vendor's side, from its own pages. It is not legal advice.

Training

Does TypingMind Teams train on your data?

Trains on your data by default?

Checked

Doesn't train on your data.

No. TypingMind says conversations on its system are never used for training. Prompts sent to the AI provider you connect (OpenAI, Anthropic, Google) follow that provider's own policy.

Vendor's wording: “All of your conversations on the TypingMind system are strictly confidential and never used for training purposes.”

Source: docs.typingmind.comData Usage and Model Training Policy, topChecked on

Location

Where does TypingMind Teams store your data?

EU hosting on this plan

Checked

EU hosting available.

Yes. When creating a cloud instance you select Europe under Data Center: web server on Vercel and database on AWS, both in the EU. Calls to AI providers may still leave the EU.

Vendor's wording: “you can opt-in to have all of your data hosted in EU data center”

Source: docs.typingmind.comEU Data CenterChecked on

Contract

Does TypingMind Teams sign a data processing agreement?

Data processing agreement (DPA)

Checked

DPA on request.

Yes. A DPA based on EU standard clauses is published and is signed between the customer and Typing Technology Co. Ltd.; it prevails over other agreements.

Vendor's wording: “is entered into between Typing Technology Co. Ltd. and the undersigned Customer identified in the applicable Appendix I”

Source: docs.typingmind.comOpening paragraph and Clause 4Checked on

Processors

Who else handles TypingMind Teams data?

Sub-processors (companies that handle the data for them)

Checked

Published.

Yes, in the DPA appendix (https://docs.typingmind.com/security-and-compliance/data-processing-agreement.md): 11 entries (AWS, Render, Vercel, Customer.io, Sentry, Axiom, Stripe, Lemon Squeezy, Paddle, Help Scout, Mailgun). No AI model provider is listed; customers bring their own.

Vendor's wording: “| Amazon AWS | Cloud Hosting & Databases | USA (us-west-1), Germany (eu-central-1) |”

Source: docs.typingmind.comAppendix II list of sub-processorsChecked on

EU–US Data Privacy Framework

Checked

Not listed.

No listing found for search term 'Typing Technology', 'TypingMind'

Source: dataprivacyframework.govSearch 'Typing Technology', 'TypingMind' returned 'Query returned no results'Checked on

Retention

How long does TypingMind Teams keep your data?

How long data is kept

Checked

No fixed period published. Data is kept only as long as needed for its purpose and deleted or anonymised afterwards or on request; on termination the customer chooses deletion or return of all data (DPA). Professional adds chat logs and export.

Vendor's wording: “We store your data only for the period of time needed to realize the purpose for which it was collected.”

Source: docs.typingmind.comSection 6 How We Store and Protect Your DataSecond source: docs.typingmind.comChecked on

Security

Which certifications and admin controls does TypingMind Teams have?

Security certifications

Checked

SOC 2 shown as Compliant (report type not stated) and GDPR as Compliant on the trust center: 1 security certification named.

Vendor's wording: “### SOC 2 Compliant ### GDPR Compliant”

Source: trust.typingmind.comCompliancesChecked on

Admin controls for AI

Checked

Partly. On Professional, admins set roles and permissions and per-user limits on which models users can use or see. No setting to switch AI off is documented (the product is a chat front end for models you connect).

Vendor's wording: “Per-user model usage & visibility limits | ❌ | ❌ | ✅”

Source: docs.typingmind.comFull Feature Comparison, User ManagementChecked on

The vendor doesn't say: data location, price.

Alternatives

TypingMind Teams alternatives that don't train on your data

Other assistants tools whose business plan doesn't train on your data and includes a DPA.

The five marks, in order: No AI training · EU hosting · DPA · Sub-processors listed · DPF or EU vendor. ✓ meets it, ✕ doesn't, – partly, ? not stated.

Tool · PlanVerdictYour five rules
  • Langdock

    Business · €29.00 / user / mo

    Says it doesn't train on your dataData in the EU by default · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Microsoft 365 Copilot

    Business add-on · €18.20 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataData in the EU by default · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • nele.ai

    usage-based credit subscription · See details

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA on request

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Proton Lumo

    Professional · €11.99 / user / mo

    Says it doesn't train on your dataData in the EU (vendor says) · DPA on request

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Gemini in Google Workspace

    Business Standard · €13.60 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataLimited EU hosting · DPA in the terms

    ✓–✓✓✓

Need something your tools can't do?

We design and build what your team is missing, around the way you already work and the data rules you set.