Data

folk and the GDPR: AI training, data location and DPA

Standard: Doesn't train on your data. EU hosting available · DPA on request.

Vendor: Folk Inc.Sales, marketing and supportChecked on How we check

Verdict

Is folk GDPR compliant?

Standard

Business

Doesn't train on your data

EU hosting available · DPA on request

Price: €22 / user / mo

No tool is GDPR compliant on its own: that depends on how your business uses it. This page shows the vendor's side, from its own pages. It is not legal advice.

Training

Does folk train on your data?

Trains on your data by default?

Checked

Doesn't train on your data.

No. folk states its AI features never train large language models on your data.

Vendor's wording: “Never used for training. Your data is not used to train any large language models (LLMs).”

Source: help.folk.appHow your data is handledChecked on

Location

Where does folk store your data?

Where data is stored by default

Checked

Ireland, European Union (Amazon Web Services).

Vendor's wording: “folk's platform servers are located in Ireland, within the European Union, as specified in Article 9 of our Data Processing Agreement.”

Source: help.folk.appData hosting & international transfersChecked on

EU hosting on this plan

Checked

EU hosting available.

Yes, by default: platform servers are in Ireland and there is no separate setting. Some sub-processors (e.g. OpenAI, Apollo) are in the US, so not all processing stays in the EU.

Vendor's wording: “While our platform servers are located in Ireland, some of our authorized sub-processors operate outside the European Union, including in the United States.”

Source: help.folk.appInternational data transfersChecked on

Contract

Does folk sign a data processing agreement?

Data processing agreement (DPA)

Checked

DPA on request.

Yes. folk has a Data Processing Agreement defining its responsibilities as processor (hosting in Ireland is set in its Article 9, sub-processors in Appendix 2). How it is signed is not described.

Vendor's wording: “Our Data Processing Agreement defines our respective responsibilities when processing personal data.”

Source: help.folk.appGDPR complianceChecked on

Processors

Who else handles folk data?

Sub-processors (companies that handle the data for them)

Checked

Published.

Yes. The privacy policy has a table of 26 processors with region and opt-out flag; the full list is in DPA Appendix 2. AI/model providers in the table: OpenAI (USA), Perplexity (USA), ElevenLabs (USA); enrichment: Apollo, Datagma, People Data Labs, Prospeo, DropContact.

Vendor's wording: “The recipients of Personal Data are the following: Processor Type of data Reason Region Can opt out TurboPuffer Contact data Search EU No”

Source: folk.app5. Recipient of Personal Data (processor table)Checked on

EU–US Data Privacy Framework

Checked

Not listed.

No listing found for search term 'Folk'

Source: dataprivacyframework.govSearch 'Folk' returned 'Query returned no results'Checked on

Retention

How long does folk keep your data?

How long data is kept

Checked

Account data kept while active. After a deletion request: removed from databases within 7 days, from backups within 730 days, from logs within 930 days. Call transcripts (if enabled) are kept indefinitely; call audio is not kept.

Vendor's wording: “from Our databases within 7 days after the deletion request date; from Our database backups within 730 days after the deletion request date;”

Source: folk.app8. Data retention, security, and deletionChecked on

Security

Which certifications and admin controls does folk have?

Security certifications

Checked

2 named: SOC 2 Type 1 completed (Type 2 in progress, report under NDA) and an annual CASA security assessment through Google's App Defense Alliance. Internal benchmarks (PCI DSS, AWS) are not certifications.

Vendor's wording: “folk has completed its SOC 2 Type 1 audit and is pursuing SOC 2 Type 2.”

Source: help.folk.appCertifications & complianceChecked on

Admin controls for AI

Checked

Yes: folk says every AI feature can be turned off and enrichment providers like Perplexity can be disabled in settings. Who may do it (admin or user) is not stated.

Vendor's wording: “Every AI feature can be turned off.”

Source: help.folk.appAI features & your dataChecked on

Price

What does folk cost?

Price, as shown in Germany

Checked

€22 / user / mo.

€22 per member/month billed yearly (€27 billed monthly) for Standard; VAT treatment not shown.

Vendor's wording: “Standard Popular $24 22€/member/month $288 259€ billed yearly”

Source: folk.appStandard plan cardChecked on

Alternatives

folk alternatives that don't train on your data

Other sales, marketing and support tools whose business plan doesn't train on your data and includes a DPA.

The five marks, in order: No AI training · EU hosting · DPA · Sub-processors listed · DPF or EU vendor. ✓ meets it, ✕ doesn't, – partly, ? not stated.

Tool · PlanVerdictYour five rules
  • Pipedrive

    Growth · €39 / user / mo

    Says it doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA on request

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Attio

    Pro · €74 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting not documented · DPA on request

    ✓?✓✓✓

  • Dynamics 365 Sales

    Professional · €56.30 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA on request

    ✓✓✓?✓

  • GetResponse Email Marketing

    Marketer · €44.28 / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting not documented · DPA on request

    ✓?✓✓✓

  • monday CRM

    Pro · €28 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting not documented · DPA on request

    ✓?✓✓✓

Need something your tools can't do?

We design and build what your team is missing, around the way you already work and the data rules you set.