Data

Mailchimp and the GDPR: AI training, data location and DPA

Standard: Trains on your data, with no documented way to stop it. EU hosting not documented · DPA in the terms.

Vendor: Intuit MailchimpSales, marketing and supportChecked on How we check

Verdict

Is Mailchimp GDPR compliant?

Standard

Business

Trains on your data, with no documented way to stop it

EU hosting not documented · DPA in the terms

Price: From €18.03 / mo

No tool is GDPR compliant on its own: that depends on how your business uses it. This page shows the vendor's side, from its own pages. It is not legal advice.

Training

Does Mailchimp train on your data?

Trains on your data by default?

Checked

Trains on your data, with no documented way to stop it.

Yes, under Intuit's privacy statement: Intuit trains its AI and machine-learning models, including by assessing certain content customers send through the platform. Mailchimp's terms and DPA describe no opt-out

Source: mailchimp.comIntuit Global Privacy Statement (updated 9 Mar 2026), 'Research and development'Second source: mailchimp.comChecked on

Location

Where does Mailchimp store your data?

Contract

Does Mailchimp sign a data processing agreement?

Data processing agreement (DPA)

Checked

DPA in the terms.

Yes. Mailchimp's Data Processing Addendum is part of the agreement with business customers and includes the 2021 SCCs

Source: mailchimp.comOpening paragraph ('ist Bestandteil der Vereinbarung')Checked on

Processors

Who else handles Mailchimp data?

Sub-processors (companies that handle the data for them)

Checked

29 listed.

Public but dated (last updated 29 Feb 2024): 25 entries, 21 in the US; AI features through Intuit Assist use Microsoft and OpenAI

Source: mailchimp.comTable 'Entity Name & Location' and 'Last updated: Feb. 29, 2024'Checked on

Retention

How long does Mailchimp keep your data?

How long data is kept

Checked

Kept for the account; on termination Mailchimp provides tools to delete or export data and then deletes it under its deletion policies; accounts inactive for 24 months may be closed

Source: mailchimp.comSection 7.1 'Löschung oder Herausgabe bei Kündigung'Second source: mailchimp.comChecked on

Price

What does Mailchimp cost?

Price, as shown in Germany

Checked

From €18.03 / mo.

From EUR 18.03 per month after a 14-day free trial (smallest contact tier, up to 6,000 emails a month); VAT basis not stated

Source: mailchimp.comPlan card 'Standard' with EUR selected ('Danach ab: €18.03/Monat')Checked on

The vendor doesn't say: switch-off, EU hosting, certifications, admin controls.

Alternatives

Mailchimp alternatives that don't train on your data

Other sales, marketing and support tools whose business plan doesn't train on your data and includes a DPA.

The five marks, in order: No AI training · EU hosting · DPA · Sub-processors listed · DPF or EU vendor. ✓ meets it, ✕ doesn't, – partly, ? not stated.

Tool · PlanVerdictYour five rules
  • Pipedrive

    Growth · €39 / user / mo

    Says it doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA on request

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Attio

    Pro · €74 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting not documented · DPA on request

    ✓?✓✓✓

  • Dynamics 365 Sales

    Professional · €56.30 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA on request

    ✓✓✓?✓

  • folk

    Standard · €22 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA on request

    ✓✓✓✓✕

  • GetResponse Email Marketing

    Marketer · €44.28 / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting not documented · DPA on request

    ✓?✓✓✓

If no plan gives you the training default or data location you need, the tool may not be the right fit. We design and build what your team is missing around your own rules, and keep it running after launch.

See what we build

Need something your tools can't do?

We design and build what your team is missing, around the way you already work and the data rules you set.