Data

monday.com and the GDPR: AI training, data location and DPA

Pro: Doesn't train on your data. EU hosting available · DPA in the terms.

Vendor: monday.comWorkspace and projectsChecked on How we check

Verdict

Is monday.com GDPR compliant?

Pro

Business

Doesn't train on your data

EU hosting available · DPA in the terms

Price: €19 / user / mo

No tool is GDPR compliant on its own: that depends on how your business uses it. This page shows the vendor's side, from its own pages. It is not legal advice.

Training

Does monday.com train on your data?

Trains on your data by default?

Checked

Doesn't train on your data.

No. monday.com does not use Customer Data or Content to train AI models and does not allow others to do so

Source: monday.comSection 'Monitoring and Improvement' (AI terms, last updated 5 May 2026)Checked on

Location

Where does monday.com store your data?

Where data is stored by default

Checked

Set by where the first user opens the account: accounts opened from the EU, Africa or the Middle East are stored in the EU Data Region (AWS); profiles, credentials, usage analytics and app data stay in the US Data Region

Source: support.monday.comSections 'How is my account's data region determined?' and 'What type of data is stored there?'Checked on

EU hosting on this plan

Checked

EU hosting available.

Yes, with limits: Pro accounts created on or after 23 Jan 2023 can sit in the EU Data Region, but their Customer Data may also be processed in the US under Standard Contractual Clauses; only Enterprise keeps Customer Data solely in the EU, sub-processors included. An account's region cannot be changed later

Source: support.monday.comSections 'EU Data Region', 'Where is my data stored?' and 'Can I change my data region?'Checked on

Contract

Does monday.com sign a data processing agreement?

Data processing agreement (DPA)

Checked

DPA in the terms.

Yes. The Data Processing Addendum is incorporated by reference into monday.com's Terms of Service

Source: monday.comOpening paragraph (last updated 20 Dec 2023)Checked on

Processors

Who else handles monday.com data?

Sub-processors (companies that handle the data for them)

Checked

15 listed.

Public. 15 platform sub-processors (one row shows no name) and 15 AI sub-processors, including OpenAI, Anthropic, AWS, Google and Microsoft, plus 13 monday.com entities and support providers; hosting regions given per row

Source: monday.comPage 'Sub-Processors, Subsidiaries & Support' (last updated 24 Jun 2026)Second source: monday.comChecked on

Retention

How long does monday.com keep your data?

How long data is kept

Checked

Account data is kept for the term of the agreement; after termination monday.com deletes or returns personal data at the customer's choice (no period stated). Data about monday AI use kept for monitoring and improvement is held for up to 60 days

Source: monday.comSection 'Return and Deletion of Personal Data'Second source: monday.comChecked on

Security

Which certifications and admin controls does monday.com have?

Security certifications

Checked

SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II and SOC 3 reports; ISO/IEC 27001:2022, 27017:2015, 27018:2019, 27032:2023 and 27701:2019; HIPAA BAA available

Source: monday.comCompliance listChecked on

Admin controls for AI

Checked

Yes. Account admins can switch monday AI on or off for the whole account (Administration > AI Governance > Settings) and set AI credit limits; per-role and per-workspace AI permissions are Enterprise only

Source: support.monday.comSections 'Enable or disable AI capabilities' and 'AI permissions'Checked on

Price

What does monday.com cost?

Price, as shown in Germany

Checked

€19 / user / mo.

EUR 19 per seat/month billed annually, including 3,000 AI credits a month; VAT basis not stated

Source: monday.comPlan card 'Pro' (10 seats, Yearly)Checked on

Alternatives

monday.com alternatives that don't train on your data

Other workspace and projects tools whose business plan doesn't train on your data and includes a DPA.

The five marks, in order: No AI training · EU hosting · DPA · Sub-processors listed · DPF or EU vendor. ✓ meets it, ✕ doesn't, – partly, ? not stated.

Tool · PlanVerdictYour five rules
  • Google Chat

    Google Workspace Business Standard · €13.60 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Miro

    Business · €20 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Teamwork.com

    Basics · $9.99 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA on request

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Wrike

    Business · $25 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Asana

    Advanced · $24.99 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting only on higher plans · DPA in the terms

    ✓✕✓✓✓

Need something your tools can't do?

We design and build what your team is missing, around the way you already work and the data rules you set.