Data

Wrike and the GDPR: AI training, data location and DPA

Business: Doesn't train on your data. EU hosting available · DPA in the terms.

Vendor: Wrike, Inc.Workspace and projectsChecked on How we check

Verdict

Is Wrike GDPR compliant?

Business

Business

Doesn't train on your data

EU hosting available · DPA in the terms

Price: $25 / user / mo

No tool is GDPR compliant on its own: that depends on how your business uses it. This page shows the vendor's side, from its own pages. It is not legal advice.

Training

Does Wrike train on your data?

Trains on your data by default?

Checked

Doesn't train on your data.

No. Wrike does not use Customer Data, or let others use it, to train the machine learning models behind Wrike AI. It may use usage data, metadata and thumbs up/down feedback to improve Wrike AI.

Vendor's wording: “Wrike does not use Customer Data or permit others to use Customer Data to train the machine learning methods and data models underlying Wrike AI.”

Source: wrike.comTerms of Service, 8.11 Improving Wrike AIChecked on

Location

Where does Wrike store your data?

Where data is stored by default

Checked

Set by where you register: accounts created from Europe go to the Paris, France data centre; all other accounts go to the U.S. data centre in Santa Clara, California.

Vendor's wording: “Accounts created from Europe are hosted in our European data center in Paris, France, while all other accounts are hosted in our primary U.S. data center in Santa Clara, California.”

Source: wrike.comPricing FAQ, 'Where will my data be hosted?'Checked on

EU hosting on this plan

Checked

EU hosting available.

Yes. Eligible customers can have workspaces stored in Wrike's EU data centre; to change location, contact Wrike support or your Wrike representative. Plan eligibility is not stated.

Vendor's wording: “eligible Customers can arrange to have their Workspaces stored in our data center located in the European Union.”

Source: wrike.comPrivacy Policy, 10. International Data TransfersChecked on

Contract

Does Wrike sign a data processing agreement?

Data processing agreement (DPA)

Checked

DPA in the terms.

Yes. A public Data Processing Addendum covers customer personal data worldwide and incorporates the EU and UK Standard Contractual Clauses; the Terms refer to it.

Vendor's wording: “This Data Processing Addendum (“DPA”) applies to the processing of personal data by Wrike on your behalf”

Source: wrike.comLegal, Data Processing Addendum and SCCsChecked on

Processors

Who else handles Wrike data?

Sub-processors (companies that handle the data for them)

Checked

Published.

Yes, public at https://www.wrike.com/legal/subprocessors-list/: 21 rows (19 companies; Shibumi appears 3 times) plus 11 affiliate companies. AI providers: Microsoft (Azure OpenAI), Google (Vertex, Gemini), Anthropic (Claude), OpenAI.

Vendor's wording: “Wrike Sub-Processors used for providing generative and agentic AI functionalities”

Source: wrike.comSub-Processors and AffiliatesChecked on

EU–US Data Privacy Framework

Checked

On the list.

Active (Wrike, Inc.; EU-US DPF, Swiss-US DPF, UK Extension)

Source: dataprivacyframework.govSearch 'Wrike'Checked on

Security

Which certifications and admin controls does Wrike have?

Security certifications

Checked

4 named: SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, ISO 27018 and CSA STAR (Level 2 per the privacy policy).

Vendor's wording: “We have the following independent third-party certifications:”

Source: wrike.comPricing FAQ, 'What does Wrike do to ensure GDPR compliance?'Checked on

Admin controls for AI

Vendor says

Yes. Account owners can enable or disable generative AI for the entire account; they must accept the Wrike AI terms to enable it.

Vendor's wording: “Account owners can enable or disable generative AI for the entire account.”

Source: wrike.comWrike AI page, FAQ on enabling generative AIChecked on

The vendor doesn't say: retention, price.

Alternatives

Wrike alternatives that don't train on your data

Other workspace and projects tools whose business plan doesn't train on your data and includes a DPA.

The five marks, in order: No AI training · EU hosting · DPA · Sub-processors listed · DPF or EU vendor. ✓ meets it, ✕ doesn't, – partly, ? not stated.

Tool · PlanVerdictYour five rules
  • Google Chat

    Google Workspace Business Standard · €13.60 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Miro

    Business · €20 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • monday.com

    Pro · €19 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Teamwork.com

    Basics · $9.99 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA on request

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Asana

    Advanced · $24.99 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting only on higher plans · DPA in the terms

    ✓✕✓✓✓

Need something your tools can't do?

We design and build what your team is missing, around the way you already work and the data rules you set.