Data

GDPR-compliant project management and workspace tools: 34 checked

34 tools, 9 of which don't train on your data, keep it in the EU and include a DPA. From the vendors' own pages.

Checked on

Tools

Which project management tool is GDPR compliant?

Each tool's business plan where there is one, against your five rules. 7 tools without a page of their own open their answers with “Show answers”.

The five marks, in order: No AI training · EU hosting · DPA · Sub-processors listed · DPF or EU vendor. ✓ meets it, ✕ doesn't, – partly, ? not stated.

Tool · PlanVerdictYour five rules
  • Airtable

    Team · $20 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting only on higher plans · DPA in the terms

    ✓✕✓✓✕

  • Asana

    Advanced · $24.99 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting only on higher plans · DPA in the terms

    ✓✕✓✓✓

  • Basecamp

    Pro · $99 / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting not documented · DPA on request

    ✓?✓✓✕

  • Calendly

    Teams · $16 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting not documented · DPA in the terms

    ✓?✓✓✓

  • ClickUp

    Business · $12 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting only on higher plans · DPA on request

    ✓✕✓✓✕

  • Coda / Superhuman Docs

    Superhuman Business · €33 / user / mo

    Trains on your data unless you switch it offEU hosting not documented · DPA in the terms

    ✕?✓✓✓

  • Confluence

    Premium · See details

    Trains on your data in partEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    –✓✓✓✓

  • Confluence with Rovo

    Standard · $5.78 / user / mo

    Trains on your data unless you switch it offEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ✕✓✓✓✓

  • Craft

    Team · €50 / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting not documented · DPA not stated

    ✓???✓

  • Dropbox

    Standard · €12 / user / mo

    Says it doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✕✓

  • Doesn't train on your dataNo EU hosting · DPA in the terms

    ✓✕✓✓✓

  • Google Chat

    Google Workspace Business Standard · €13.60 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Jira

    Standard · See details

    Trains on your data unless you switch it offEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ✕✓✓✓✓

  • Linear

    Business · $16 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA on request

    ✓✓✓✓✕

  • Lucid

    Team · See details

    Doesn't say whether it trains on your dataEU hosting not documented · DPA on request

    ??✓?✓

    Show answers
    Data processing agreement (DPA)

    DPA on request.

    Yes, on request: Lucid's Trust Center says Lucid will enter into a DPA. How it is requested or signed is not shown (the Terms page on lucid.co could not be read).

    “Will enter into a DPA”

    Source: trust.lucid.co · Checked on

    EU–US Data Privacy Framework

    On the list.

    Active (Lucid Software Inc.; EU-US DPF, Swiss-US DPF, UK Extension)

    Source: dataprivacyframework.gov · Checked on

    Security certifications

    Trust Center shows 12 badges: SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001:2022, ISO 27701, ISO 42001, FedRAMP Moderate, IRAP, PCI and TX-RAMP (8 audits/certifications), plus CSA, SIG, GDPR and CCPA. Company-wide.

    “ISO 27001:2022 ISO 27701 ISO 42001 PCI SIG SOC 2 Type II TX-RAMP”

    Source: trust.lucid.co · Checked on

    Admin controls for AI

    Yes. Admins on Team and Enterprise accounts can switch Lucid AI on or off for all users of the account (Admin menu, 'Enable Lucid AI' toggle). AI is on by default.

    “Admins on Team and Enterprise accounts can control whether or not to give users on their account access to AI features.”

    Source: help.lucid.co · Checked on

  • Mattermost Professional

    Quote only

    Doesn't say whether it trains on your dataEU hosting available · DPA on request

    ?✓✓✓✓

    Show answers
    Where data is stored by default

    On the customer's own servers or private cloud: Professional is a self-hosted licence, so Mattermost does not host the messages. A Mattermost-run cloud is described only for the Enterprise plan.

    “Maintain full ownership of your data with deployment on your own infrastructure or private cloud.”

    Source: mattermost.com · Checked on

    EU hosting on this plan

    EU hosting available.

    Yes, by choice of hosting: the customer can run the software in an EU data centre or private cloud. No Mattermost-run EU region is described for Professional.

    “Maintain full ownership of your data with deployment on your own infrastructure or private cloud.”

    Source: mattermost.com · Checked on

    Data processing agreement (DPA)

    DPA on request.

    Yes. Mattermost offers a Data Processing Addendum that supplements the customer terms or master subscription agreement; an authorised person signs it via a link on the DPA page.

    “Mattermost offers a Data Processing Addendum that supplements the Customer Terms of Service or any master subscription agreement.”

    Source: mattermost.com · Checked on

    Sub-processors (companies that handle the data for them)

    Published.

    Yes, public: https://mattermost.com/subprocessors/ . 13 third-party subprocessors plus 4 Mattermost affiliates (last updated 23 Dec 2024). AI providers listed: Anthropic PBC and OpenAI Inc. (AI Services).

    “Mattermost and its affiliates may engage third parties (each a “Subprocessor”) to process your Personal Data.”

    Source: mattermost.com · Checked on

    EU–US Data Privacy Framework

    On the list.

    Active (Mattermost, Inc; EU-US DPF, Swiss-US DPF, UK Extension)

    Source: dataprivacyframework.gov · Checked on

    How long data is kept

    Kept in the customer's own database. By default deleted messages are only hidden (soft delete); retention rules that permanently delete after a set age (e.g. 30 or 90 days) are described for Enterprise customers; not stated for Professional.

    “Mattermost Enterprise customers can set a global retention policy as well as custom retention policies”

    Source: docs.mattermost.com · Checked on

    Security certifications

    2 named: SOC 2 Type II (report 2025, bridge letter 2026) and ISO 27001 (2022 certificate).

    “Mattermost ISO 27001 (2022) Certificate”

    Source: trust.mattermost.com · Checked on

    Admin controls for AI

    Yes. The AI Agents plugin can be enabled or disabled system-wide by an admin, and it only works once an admin configures an LLM provider.

    “toggle to enable or disable the plugin system-wide”

    Source: docs.mattermost.com · Checked on

  • Microsoft Loop and Planner

    Loop (Microsoft 365 Business Standard) (+1) · See details

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✕✓

  • Microsoft Teams Essentials

    See details

    Doesn't say whether it trains on your dataEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ?✓✓?✓

    Show answers
    Where data is stored by default

    In the geographic region of your Microsoft 365 organization (for example Americas, EMEA, APAC, or a country such as Germany for new tenants); the admin can see it under Settings > Organization profile > Data location.

    “Data in Teams resides in the geographic region associated with your Microsoft 365 or Office 365 organization.”

    Source: learn.microsoft.com · Checked on

    EU hosting on this plan

    EU hosting available.

    Yes, by tenant region: new tenants can have Teams data in countries such as France, Germany, Italy, Poland, Sweden; EMEA otherwise. The paid Multi-Geo add-on is not available to small-business subscriptions.

    “Teams currently offers data residency in Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, Norway, Poland, Qatar, South Korea, South Africa, Sweden”

    Source: learn.microsoft.com · Checked on

    Data processing agreement (DPA)

    DPA in the terms.

    Yes. The Microsoft Products and Services Data Protection Addendum is the data processing and security terms for subscribed products, an addendum to the Product Terms.

    “the data processing and security terms are defined in Microsoft Online Services Data Protection Addendum (DPA). The DPA is an addendum to the Product Terms site”

    Source: microsoft.com · Checked on

    EU–US Data Privacy Framework

    On the list.

    Active (Microsoft Corporation; EU-US DPF, Swiss-US DPF, UK Extension)

    Source: dataprivacyframework.gov · Checked on

    Security certifications

    4 named: ISO 27001, ISO 27018, SOC 1 and SOC 2 (SSAE18). The same list also names HIPAA and EU Model Clauses.

    “These standards are the compliance certifications Teams holds.”

    Source: learn.microsoft.com · Checked on

  • Miro

    Business · €20 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • monday.com

    Pro · €19 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Mural

    Business · $17.99 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataNo EU hosting · DPA in the terms

    ✓✕✓✓✓

  • Nextcloud Assistant

    Nextcloud Enterprise, Ultimate · €204.75 / user / yr

    Doesn't say whether it trains on your dataEU hosting available · no DPA

    ?✓✕?✓

    Show answers
    Where data is stored by default

    Wherever the customer (or the hosting partner they pick) runs the server: Enterprise is installed on the customer's own infrastructure, so Nextcloud has no default region.

    “The actual compliance with regulations depends on the hosting solution used for Nextcloud Enterprise.”

    Source: nextcloud.com · Checked on

    EU hosting on this plan

    EU hosting available.

    Yes by design: the customer chooses where the server runs, including a server in their own country; the compliance page says to keep the server location in your country.

    “Legal compliance: Federal data protection and GDPR-compliant, protecting data sovereignty, keep the server location in your country.”

    Source: nextcloud.com · Checked on

    Data processing agreement (DPA)

    No DPA.

    Not needed in the usual setup: Nextcloud says Nextcloud GmbH has no access to customer data in self-hosted Enterprise, so no data processor agreement is required. A DPA would apply to a hosted setup, but none is published.

    “Nextcloud is fundamentally designed so that Nextcloud GmbH does not have any access to customer data, removing the need for a data processor or controller agreement”

    Source: nextcloud.com · Checked on

    EU–US Data Privacy Framework

    EU or Swiss vendor.

    Not applicable (EU-based vendor, Nextcloud GmbH, Stuttgart, Germany)

    “Nextcloud GmbH (hereinafter collectively referred to as “the controller” or “Nextcloud” or “we” or “us”) as the operator of this website”

    Source: nextcloud.com · Checked on

    Security certifications

    Compliance page shows 7 badges: PCI DSS, ANSSI CSPN, Blauer Engel, ISO/IEC 27001, BSI C5, REUSE, OpenSSF Best Practices. It adds that Enterprise can only be certified together with a deployment, and Nextcloud Files is CSPN-certified.

    “As we do not operate Nextcloud Enterprise for our customers nor control how they use it, as a on-premises hosted solution, Nextcloud Enterprise can only be certified as a whole in combination with a deployment.”

    Source: nextcloud.com · Checked on

    Admin controls for AI

    Yes: AI features are optional and only run if an administrator installs the separate AI apps and connects a model back end; for example Mail's AI text processing is switched on under Administration settings > Groupware > Mail.

    “All of these features are completely optional. If you want to have them on your server, you need to install them via separate Nextcloud Apps.”

    Source: docs.nextcloud.com · Checked on

    Price, as shown in Germany

    €204.75 / user / yr.

    €204.75 per user per year for Ultimate, minimum 100 users, sold by quote (no self-serve purchase). VAT treatment not shown.

    “Starting at 100 users for 204.75€/user/year”

    Source: nextcloud.com · Checked on

  • Notion

    Business · €19.50 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting only on higher plans · DPA on request

    ✓✕✓✓✓

  • Rocket.Chat

    Commercial · Quote only

    Doesn't say whether it trains on your dataEU hosting available · DPA on request

    ?✓✓✓✕

    Show answers
    Where data is stored by default

    The customer's own infrastructure (on-premises, private cloud or isolated) for Commercial; for Rocket.Chat-hosted workspaces the customer picks the location at onboarding (providers listed: OVH, AWS).

    “The customer determines the location where an instance of our hosted offering is deployed during onboarding.”

    Source: docs.rocket.chat · Checked on

    EU hosting on this plan

    EU hosting available.

    Yes. Self-managed deployments keep data wherever the customer hosts them, and for Rocket.Chat-hosted workspaces the customer determines the location at onboarding; specific EU regions are not named.

    “The customer determines the location where an instance of our hosted offering is deployed during onboarding.”

    Source: docs.rocket.chat · Checked on

    Data processing agreement (DPA)

    DPA on request.

    Yes. A pre-signed Data Processing Agreement with EU Standard Contractual Clauses is available; the customer completes and signs it online (request via email code, sign through Zoho Sign). It covers the hosted offering and push/marketplace services.

    “It is pre-signed and only needs to be signed from your end for your compliance purposes.”

    Source: docs.rocket.chat · Checked on

    Sub-processors (companies that handle the data for them)

    Published.

    Yes, public: https://docs.rocket.chat/docs/subprocessors (effective 6 March 2025). 12 third-party rows (3 infrastructure, 7 service-specific, 2 innovation) plus 2 affiliates. No AI model providers listed.

    “The list below identifies subcontractors (subprocessors) that Rocket.Chat may be used to process personal data while provisioning our services.”

    Source: docs.rocket.chat · Checked on

    EU–US Data Privacy Framework

    Not listed.

    No listing found for search term 'Rocket.Chat'

    Source: dataprivacyframework.gov · Checked on

    How long data is kept

    The customer can export all data and request deletion of accounts. After the agreement ends the customer must retrieve data within 30 business days, after which Rocket.Chat may delete it irrecoverably. Commercial adds granular retention policies.

    “Customer will retrieve its Data or copies of its Data from Rocket.Chat within thirty (30) business days of the termination or expiration of this Agreement Terms.”

    Source: docs.rocket.chat · Checked on

    Admin controls for AI

    Admins manage Rocket.Chat AI from Manage > Workspace > AI Center. AI is a paid add-on that needs the customer's own LLM connected, so it runs only if the customer sets it up.

    “Administrators can manage Rocket.Chat AI from Manage > Workspace > AI Center.”

    Source: docs.rocket.chat · Checked on

  • Slack

    Business+ · €18 / user / mo

    Trains on your data in partEU hosting available · DPA on request

    –✓✓✓✓

  • Smartsheet

    Business · €22 / user / mo

    Doesn't say whether it trains on your dataEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ?✓✓?✓

    Show answers
    How to switch training off

    Nothing to do for third-party training: Smartsheet says customer data is not used to train third-party foundation models. No setting or opt-out is described.

    “No, your data never leaves your control, never mixes with other customers, and never trains third-party foundation models.”

    Source: smartsheet.com · Checked on

    Where data is stored by default

    AWS in the United States (Virginia/Ohio) for the Commercial environment, which is the default.

    “By default, customers are hosted in AWS East, with regional options available via Smartsheet Regions.”

    Source: smartsheet.com · Checked on

    EU hosting on this plan

    EU hosting available.

    Yes: Smartsheet Regions lets customers host in the US, EU or Australia (the EU environment runs on AWS in Germany and Ireland); the pricing FAQ says to contact sales, and no official page names which plans include it.

    “Smartsheet Regions lets you choose — US, EU, or Australia — so you can meet regional compliance requirements”

    Source: smartsheet.com · Checked on

    Data processing agreement (DPA)

    DPA in the terms.

    Yes. Smartsheet has a standard Data Processing Addendum that includes the EU Standard Contractual Clauses; it is linked from the legal pages.

    “the SCCs are incorporated as part of Smartsheet’s standard DPA as detailed below.”

    Source: smartsheet.com · Checked on

    EU–US Data Privacy Framework

    On the list.

    Active (Smartsheet Inc.; EU-US DPF, Swiss-US DPF, UK Extension)

    Source: dataprivacyframework.gov · Checked on

    How long data is kept

    AI prompts and outputs are stored with the sheet data and deleted within 180 days after the contract ends; Smartsheet can keep them for support and abuse monitoring. AI providers do not store them beyond generating a response.

    “Input prompts and generated outputs are deleted by”

    Source: smartsheet.com · Checked on

    Security certifications

    4 named: SOC 2, ISO 27001, ISO 27701 and FedRAMP; ISO 42001 (AI management) is stated as being pursued, not held. HIPAA use needs a BAA on Enterprise.

    “Smartsheet adheres to leading security and compliance frameworks, including SOC 2, ISO 27001, ISO 27701, and FedRAMP.”

    Source: smartsheet.com · Checked on

    Admin controls for AI

    Yes. System administrators choose which AI capabilities are activated for end users using AI activation controls in the admin center.

    “system administrators can choose which AI capabilities are activated for end users using AI activation controls in the admin center.”

    Source: smartsheet.com · Checked on

    Price, as shown in Germany

    €22 / user / mo.

    Business: EUR 22 per member/month billed monthly, or EUR 17 billed yearly (page prints '2217€'); 3+ members; VAT not stated.

    “2217€ per Member/month £1915 per Member/month ¥3,2002,500 per Member/month”

    Source: smartsheet.com · Checked on

  • Stackfield

    Business · €14 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA on request

    ✓✓✓?✓

  • Taskade

    Business · $25 / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting not documented · no DPA

    ✓?✕✕✕

  • Teamwork.com

    Basics · $9.99 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA on request

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Todoist

    Business · See details

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting not documented · DPA not stated

    ✓???✕

    Show answers
    Trains on your data by default?

    Doesn't train on your data.

    No, for Todoist's own use: the privacy policy says information collected, including via AI tools, is not used to develop, improve or train generalized or non-personalized AI or machine learning models. Training by its third-party LLM providers is not stated.

    “However, we do not use information we collect from you, including via artificial intelligence tools, to develop, improve, or train generalized/non-personalized artificial intelligence or machine learning models.”

    Source: todoist.com · Checked on

    How to switch training off

    Nothing to switch off: this plan doesn't train on your data.

    Nothing to do for Todoist's own training: the privacy policy states it does not use collected information to train generalized AI or machine learning models.

    “we do not use information we collect from you, including via artificial intelligence tools, to develop, improve, or train generalized/non-personalized artificial intelligence or machine learning models.”

    Source: todoist.com · Checked on

    Where data is stored by default

    United States, on Amazon Web Services servers.

    “We use Amazon Web Services (AWS) servers to host all user data.”

    Source: todoist.com · Checked on

    EU–US Data Privacy Framework

    Not listed.

    No listing found for search term 'Doist'

    Source: dataprivacyframework.gov · Checked on

    How long data is kept

    Information is kept as long as needed for the stated purposes. When an account is deleted, data is removed from production systems and usually only an encrypted backup copy remains for 90 days. No retention setting for AI prompts is stated.

    “upon deleting your account, all your Information will be removed from our production systems. Usually, only an encrypted copy of your Information will remain on our backup archives for 90 days”

    Source: todoist.com · Checked on

    Security certifications

    1 named: SOC 2 Type II (certified as of December 2025). Report is in the trust centre.

    “Yes. Todoist is SOC2 Type II certified as of December 2025.”

    Source: todoist.com · Checked on

  • Trello

    Premium · $10 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting not documented · DPA in the terms

    ✓?✓✓✓

  • Whimsical

    Pro · $10 / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting not documented · DPA in the terms

    ✓?✓✓✕

  • Wrike

    Business · $25 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Zoho Projects

    Premium · See details

    Trains on your data in partEU hosting not documented · DPA on request

    –?✓✕✕

Shortlist

Which project management tools keep your data in the EU?

Shortlist

Which project management tools train on your data?

Need something your tools can't do?

We design and build what your team is missing, around the way you already work and the data rules you set.

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

3 of 34 train on your data on the plan shown, unless someone switches it off: Coda / Superhuman Docs, Confluence with Rovo, Jira.