Data

Sprout Social and the GDPR: AI training, data location and DPA

Standard: Trains on your data in part. EU hosting not documented · DPA on request.

Vendor: Sprout Social, Inc.Sales, marketing and supportChecked on How we check

Verdict

Is Sprout Social GDPR compliant?

Standard

Business

Trains on your data in part

EU hosting not documented · DPA on request

Price: $199 / user / mo

No tool is GDPR compliant on its own: that depends on how your business uses it. This page shows the vendor's side, from its own pages. It is not legal advice.

Training

Does Sprout Social train on your data?

Trains on your data by default?

Checked

Trains on your data in part.

Default not stated. Sprout says customers have the option to exclude their data from model training, and that data sent to OpenAI is covered by no-training agreements.

Vendor's wording: “We give customers the option to exclude their data from model training.”

Source: media.sproutsocial.comPrinciples: User Control and FeedbackChecked on

Switch-off

How do you turn off AI training in Sprout Social?

How to switch training off

Checked

You can switch the training off.

Sprout says customers can exclude their data from model training and opt out of the OpenAI integration (not possible for Influencer Marketing); the steps are not published in the documents read. OpenAI features can be disabled in platform Settings.

Vendor's wording: “Customers can also opt-out of our third-party integration with OpenAI”

Source: media.sproutsocial.comPrinciples: User Control and FeedbackChecked on

Location

Where does Sprout Social store your data?

Where data is stored by default

Checked

United States (AWS is the hosting provider); the privacy policy also says Sprout has servers in the EEA.

Vendor's wording: “AWS (Amazon Web Services), Inc. Hosting provider United States”

Source: sproutsocial.comSprout Social platform listChecked on

Contract

Does Sprout Social sign a data processing agreement?

Data processing agreement (DPA)

Checked

DPA on request.

Yes: the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the Terms and must be entered into if personal data is processed; a downloadable PDF is published.

Vendor's wording: “The DPA forms part of these Terms and applies to the processing of personal data.”

Source: sproutsocial.com12.2 Data Processing AddendumChecked on

Processors

Who else handles Sprout Social data?

Sub-processors (companies that handle the data for them)

Checked

Published.

Yes, public at sproutsocial.com/subprocessors: 19 entries for the Sprout Social platform (13 for Employee Advocacy, 9 for Influencer Marketing); AI providers: OpenAI (all three), Google Gemini (Influencer Marketing).

Vendor's wording: “OpenAI, L.L.C.* AI model provider United States”

Source: sproutsocial.comSprout Social Subprocessors, platform listChecked on

EU–US Data Privacy Framework

Checked

On the list.

Active (Sprout Social; EU-US DPF, Swiss-US DPF, UK Extension)

Source: dataprivacyframework.govSearch 'Sprout Social'Checked on

Retention

How long does Sprout Social keep your data?

How long data is kept

Checked

After cancellation Sprout may delete account and content within 30 days under the Terms; the DPA lets it keep personal data up to 13 months for reactivation unless the customer asks for deletion or return.

Vendor's wording: “may retain Subscriber Personal Data for up to thirteen (13) months after termination of the Agreement for the purposes of future account reactivation”

Source: media.sproutsocial.com8.1 Data RetentionChecked on

Security

Which certifications and admin controls does Sprout Social have?

Security certifications

Checked

5 named: SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001, ISO 27701, PCI DSS attestations, CSA STAR Level 1 assessment (a self-assessment).

Vendor's wording: “Sprout Social maintains the following certifications, attestations, and reports to verify its compliance with industry frameworks and applicable laws and regulations.”

Source: sproutsocial.comComplianceChecked on

Admin controls for AI

Checked

Yes for OpenAI-powered features: they can be disabled within the platform through Settings; this does not apply to Influencer Marketing, where they cannot be disabled.

Vendor's wording: “These features can be disabled within the platform through your Settings.”

Source: sproutsocial.comFootnote under platform listChecked on

The vendor doesn't say: EU hosting, price.

Alternatives

Sprout Social alternatives that don't train on your data

Other sales, marketing and support tools whose business plan doesn't train on your data and includes a DPA.

The five marks, in order: No AI training · EU hosting · DPA · Sub-processors listed · DPF or EU vendor. ✓ meets it, ✕ doesn't, – partly, ? not stated.

Tool · PlanVerdictYour five rules
  • Pipedrive

    Growth · €39 / user / mo

    Says it doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA on request

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Attio

    Pro · €74 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting not documented · DPA on request

    ✓?✓✓✓

  • Dynamics 365 Sales

    Professional · €56.30 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA on request

    ✓✓✓?✓

  • folk

    Standard · €22 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA on request

    ✓✓✓✓✕

  • GetResponse Email Marketing

    Marketer · €44.28 / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting not documented · DPA on request

    ✓?✓✓✓

If no plan gives you the training default or data location you need, the tool may not be the right fit. We design and build what your team is missing around your own rules, and keep it running after launch.

See what we build

Need something your tools can't do?

We design and build what your team is missing, around the way you already work and the data rules you set.