Data

Slack and the GDPR: AI training, data location and DPA

Business+: Trains on your data in part. EU hosting available · DPA on request.

Vendor: Slack (Salesforce)Workspace and projectsChecked on How we check

Verdict

Is Slack GDPR compliant?

Business+

Business

Trains on your data in part

EU hosting available · DPA on request

Price: €18 / user / mo

No tool is GDPR compliant on its own: that depends on how your business uses it. This page shows the vendor's side, from its own pages. It is not legal advice.

Training

Does Slack train on your data?

Trains on your data by default?

Checked

Trains on your data in part.

Partly. Generative AI: no, unless the customer opts in. Non-generative 'global' models (such as recommendations) learn from customer messages, content and files by default; opt out by emailing feedback@slack.com

Source: slack.comPrivacy principles (undated)Checked on

Switch-off

How do you turn off AI training in Slack?

How to switch training off

Checked

You can switch the training off.

For Slack's non-generative 'global' models, an owner must email feedback@slack.com with the workspace URL and the subject 'Slack global model opt-out request'. Generative AI models are not developed with customer data, so there is nothing to switch off there

Source: slack.comSection 'Contact us to opt out'Checked on

Location

Where does Slack store your data?

Where data is stored by default

Checked

United States, unless data residency is enabled

Source: slack.comHelp articleChecked on

EU hosting on this plan

Checked

EU hosting available.

Yes on Business+ and Enterprise: Frankfurt, Paris, Stockholm or Zurich; member profiles, membership and analytics data stay outside the region; Slack AI coverage not stated

Source: slack.comPlans, regions and covered dataChecked on

Contract

Does Slack sign a data processing agreement?

Data processing agreement (DPA)

Checked

DPA on request.

Yes, by signature: an authorised person executes the DPA linked on Slack's page

Source: slack.comDPA pageChecked on

Processors

Who else handles Slack data?

Sub-processors (companies that handle the data for them)

Checked

2 listed.

Public in Salesforce's combined list (published 2 Oct 2026): AWS (hosting, many regions), Google (email notifications, generative AI), Microsoft Azure (generative AI, US), Zendesk (support), You.com (web search for Slackbot, if enabled)

Source: salesforce.comSlack sectionChecked on

EU–US Data Privacy Framework

Checked

On the list.

Search 'Slack Technologies' returns Salesforce: active (EU-US, Swiss-US, UK Extension), 12 covered entities

Source: dataprivacyframework.govSearch 'Slack Technologies'Checked on

Retention

How long does Slack keep your data?

How long data is kept

Checked

On paid plans everything is kept for the life of the workspace by default; owners can set messages, files, canvases and lists to be deleted after a chosen period, and can let members set channel retention

Source: slack.comOpening paragraphs and message/file retention optionsChecked on

Security

Which certifications and admin controls does Slack have?

Security certifications

Checked

ISO/IEC 27001, 27017, 27018, 27701 and 42001; SOC 2 and SOC 3; CSA STAR; TISAX assessment; HIPAA- and FINRA-configurable. FedRAMP Moderate needs Enterprise or Enterprise+

Source: slack.comCertification list and industry regulations sectionChecked on

Admin controls for AI

Checked

Yes. On Pro, Business+ and Enterprise+, owners and admins can restrict AI features or turn certain features off entirely; feedback to Slack on AI answers is blocked by default in some workspaces

Source: slack.comIntroduction and plan availability boxChecked on

Price

What does Slack cost?

Price, as shown in Germany

Checked

€18 / user / mo.

EUR 18 per user/month billed monthly, excl. VAT

Source: slack.comBusiness+ cardChecked on

Alternatives

Slack alternatives that don't train on your data

Other workspace and projects tools whose business plan doesn't train on your data and includes a DPA.

The five marks, in order: No AI training · EU hosting · DPA · Sub-processors listed · DPF or EU vendor. ✓ meets it, ✕ doesn't, – partly, ? not stated.

Tool · PlanVerdictYour five rules
  • Google Chat

    Google Workspace Business Standard · €13.60 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Miro

    Business · €20 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • monday.com

    Pro · €19 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Teamwork.com

    Basics · $9.99 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA on request

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Wrike

    Business · $25 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✓

If no plan gives you the training default or data location you need, the tool may not be the right fit. We design and build what your team is missing around your own rules, and keep it running after launch.

See what we build

Need something your tools can't do?

We design and build what your team is missing, around the way you already work and the data rules you set.