For owners and finance leads whose ERP or accounting vendor now advertises AI: what each major system has built in, where its AI processes data, and how outside AI and custom software connect.
What you'll learn
- Which AI features and agents QuickBooks, Xero, NetSuite, Business Central, Sage Intacct, SAP Business One and Odoo include
- Which systems let ChatGPT, Claude or Copilot connect through a vendor-built connection
- What the built-in AI costs and which parts are metered
- Where each vendor says its AI processes data, and whether it trains on it
- Which plan or developer programme outside software needs to reach the data
- Seven checks to run before connecting AI to your books
Every major accounting and ERP system now ships AI of its own, and most of it costs nothing extra for now. The differences sit elsewhere: where that AI processes your data, whether you can switch it off, and on what terms outside AI such as ChatGPT, Claude or Copilot is allowed to read your books. This reference sets QuickBooks Online, Xero, Oracle NetSuite, Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central, Sage Intacct, SAP Business One and Odoo side by side with the same fields, from each vendor's own pages as of October 30, 2026, and adds DATEV as the German example.
As of October 30, 2026, all seven systems in this reference have AI built in: QuickBooks Online, Xero, Oracle NetSuite, Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central, Sage Intacct, SAP Business One and Odoo. Four of them also let ChatGPT or Claude read the books through a connection the vendor built itself.
What differs is less visible: where that AI runs, whether you can turn it off, and what happens to your figures once an outside AI has them. This reference lays the systems side by side with the same fields, from each vendor's own pages.
What AI is built into ERP and accounting software in 2026?
As of October 30, 2026, QuickBooks Online lists eight AI agents, Xero has its assistant JAX, Oracle NetSuite lists more than a dozen generative AI features, Business Central has Copilot plus three agents, Sage Intacct has a Finance Intelligence agent for early adopters, SAP Business One added "Ask AI" in feature package 2608, and Odoo 19 ships an AI app.[1][10][17][27][35][39][43] Most of it suggests rather than acts: categories for bank lines, matches for invoices, drafts of text, answers to questions about your own figures. The agents go further and carry out steps, such as turning a customer email into a sales quote in Business Central.
| System | Built-in AI (vendor's names) | Can outside AI connect through the vendor? |
|---|---|---|
| QuickBooks Online (Intuit) | Intuit Intelligence assistant; Accounting, Payments, Finance, Customer, Payroll, Project Management, Sales Tax and Business Tax agents | Yes: app in ChatGPT, connector for Claude (both US), open-source server |
| Xero | JAX ("Just Ask Xero") | Yes: Claude integration, ChatGPT plugin, open-source server |
| Oracle NetSuite | Text Enhance, Narrative Insights, Transaction Matching Assistant, Bill Capture, Ask Oracle and others | Yes: AI Connector Service (Claude Pro, ChatGPT, any MCP client) |
| Business Central (Microsoft) | Copilot, Sales Order Agent, Payables Agent, Expense Agent (preview), bank reconciliation assist | Yes: MCP server (Claude, ChatGPT, Copilot Studio named) |
| Sage Intacct | Finance Intelligence agent, AP Automation, Close Automation, GL Outlier Detection, Copilot | AI Gateway with an MCP server (2026 R2), no clients named |
| SAP Business One | Ask AI, AI-written database queries (Web client) | Sample code only: an open-source MCP server to build on |
| Odoo | AI app: Ask AI, AI agents, AI fields, document sorting | No official connection found; third-party modules |
The counts and names change with each release. Business Central and NetSuite ship two release waves a year, Sage Intacct four, and QuickBooks adds features continuously; the dates in this reference are the dates the vendor pages showed on October 30, 2026.
Can ChatGPT, Claude or Copilot connect to your ERP or accounting software?
Yes, for four of the seven systems, through connections the vendors built themselves. As of October 30, 2026, Intuit offers a QuickBooks app in ChatGPT and a QuickBooks connector for Claude, both for US customers; Xero has a Claude integration (live since May 12, 2026) and a ChatGPT plugin (since September 16, 2026); NetSuite's AI Connector Service supports Claude Pro and ChatGPT; and Business Central's MCP server names Claude, ChatGPT, Copilot Studio and GitHub Copilot as clients.[5][6][12][13][22][32] SAP Business One provides sample code to build such a connection; Sage Intacct's 2026 R2 notes list an AI Gateway without naming any AI assistant; Odoo has none of its own.
MCP, the Model Context Protocol, comes up in every one of these. It is a shared standard that lets an AI assistant plug into other software the same way each time, a bit like a standard socket. A vendor that publishes an "MCP server" has built that socket for its system.
| System | ChatGPT | Claude | Microsoft Copilot | Vendor's own MCP server |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| QuickBooks Online | App in ChatGPT, US | Connector, US customers only | Not found | Open source, runs on your computer |
| Xero | Plugin, since Sep 16, 2026 | Integration, since May 12, 2026 | Not checked | Open source |
| NetSuite | Supported | Claude Pro supported | Any MCP client | AI Connector Service, hosted by Oracle |
| Business Central | Named as client | Named as client | Copilot Studio named | Hosted by Microsoft |
| Sage Intacct | Not named | Not named | Not named | AI Gateway, 2026 R2 release notes |
| SAP Business One | Not named | Not named | GitHub Copilot (developer tool) named | Sample code from FP 2608 |
| Odoo | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found |
What a connection may do differs. The QuickBooks connector for Claude can create invoices, estimates and payment links, and asks for confirmation before deleting an invoice.[6] Business Central's server is read-only until an administrator configures writing.[32] NetSuite's tools can create and update records, within the permissions of the NetSuite role the AI signs in with.[23] None of these routes needs a file export; for the route where staff download a report and upload it to ChatGPT, see what ChatGPT, Copilot, Claude and Gemini can do with Excel files.
What does the AI in accounting software cost?
Most built-in AI is included in the licence for now, and the vendors say so with a caveat. As of October 30, 2026, Business Central's Copilot is "at no extra cost", with "fair-use policies, quotas, or pricing" possibly introduced later; Intuit says its AI features are "currently available at no additional cost"; and Xero's JAX chat carries "no additional charge".[26][3][10] The metered parts are agents and heavy use: Business Central bills its agents in Copilot Credits, NetSuite gives each user an allowance of AI Units, and QuickBooks sells a larger chat allowance for $10 a month.[28][19][2]
| System | Included | Metered or extra (as the vendor states it) |
|---|---|---|
| QuickBooks Online | Intuit Intelligence chat, with monthly limits; AI features "at no additional cost at this time" | $10/month add-on for a larger prompt allowance; AI report summaries only in QuickBooks Online Advanced and Intuit Enterprise Suite |
| Xero | JAX chat, "no additional charge" | Xero reserves the right to change pricing |
| NetSuite | Ask Oracle included with the licence; 1,000 AI Units per month per General Access user | Extra packs of 10,000 and 25,000 AI Units (price not published); Ask Oracle uses about 10–200 units per request |
| Business Central | Copilot features | Agents use Copilot Credits: Sales Order Agent 2–5 per step, Payables Agent 50 per invoice plus 5 per line, Expense Agent 50 per receipt |
| Sage Intacct | GL Outlier Detection and Search Help with Copilot | Other AI features: price not on the pages read |
| SAP Business One | The features themselves | Your own SAP BTP pay-as-you-go account for SAP AI Core |
| Odoo | AI app; no own AI key needed on Odoo Online | Own AI provider key on Odoo.sh and on-premise; AI scanning of vendor bills is a paid in-app purchase |
Two details change the arithmetic. Microsoft's Business Central billing page calculates 6,500 Copilot Credits for a Payables Agent that processes 100 supplier invoices of three lines each, and the price per credit sits in Microsoft's Copilot Studio pricing rather than on the Business Central pages (what Copilot Studio is and what it costs).[28] NetSuite's AI Units expire with the contract term instead of rolling over, and an outside AI reading NetSuite through the AI Connector Service does not draw on them.[19][18]
Where is your data processed when the AI in your ERP runs?
Only Microsoft and SAP say where, region by region. As of October 30, 2026, Business Central uses Microsoft-managed Azure OpenAI and keeps environments in the EU Data Boundary inside it, while agents for UK customers run in the EU and for Australia and India in the US; SAP Business One runs its AI in the SAP region the customer picks, such as the EU, and that choice "cannot" be changed later.[29][40] Oracle states that NetSuite's AI data "may be processed globally", and Intuit, Xero and Odoo name their AI partners but no processing location.[20][4][10][45]
"No training on your data" is the promise every vendor makes. "Processed in this region" is the one most of them do not.
| System | AI it uses (vendor's statement) | Where processed | Training on your data |
|---|---|---|---|
| QuickBooks Online | Partners OpenAI and Anthropic | Not stated | Not shared with partners for training; contracts prohibit it |
| Xero | Third-party providers "like AWS, Microsoft Azure, GCP, OpenAI" | Not stated | "Doesn't use your data to train" the models |
| NetSuite | Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Generative AI | "May be processed globally"; Bill Capture in US data centres only | "Not used by third parties for model training" |
| Business Central | Azure OpenAI, managed by Microsoft | By environment country; EU Data Boundary kept for EU environments | Not used to train models |
| Sage Intacct | Not stated on the pages read | Not stated | Query data "used to improve Copilot's performance" |
| SAP Business One | SAP AI Core, typically an OpenAI GPT model | SAP region chosen by the customer | Not stated |
| Odoo | OpenAI or Google Gemini | Not stated | "Not stored and not used to train AI models" |
Business Central has one setting worth knowing by name. "Allow data movement" on the Copilot & agent capabilities page is on by default; it lets processing move across geographies within the EU boundary, and for countries without local Azure OpenAI capacity it decides whether Copilot works at all.[29] Features from other publishers' apps installed in Business Central "each define their own" Azure regions.[29] For the residency settings of the AI providers themselves, see whether AI data residency keeps your data in Europe.
Can you switch off the AI in your accounting software?
In some systems feature by feature, in others not at all. As of October 30, 2026, Intuit states that in QuickBooks Online "there isn't a way to turn off AI features individually"; Microsoft says Copilot in Business Central cannot be turned off as a whole but each feature can be deactivated; NetSuite turns Text Enhance on by default with a box to clear it; and SAP Business One's AI is off until the customer sets it up.[1][31][21][40]
| System | What an administrator can do |
|---|---|
| QuickBooks Online | No per-feature switch; the assistant panel can be told to stop opening ("Disable Intuit Intelligence") |
| Xero | JAX runs when a user opens it; access follows user roles; no global switch found |
| NetSuite | Text Enhance on by default, can be disabled; Ask Oracle granted per role; agents under Setup > Agent Management |
| Business Central | Each Copilot feature and agent deactivated on the Copilot & agent capabilities page; active by default once available |
| Sage Intacct | Company-level switch not found on the pages read |
| SAP Business One | Off until the customer connects SAP AI Core; access per user through authorizations |
| Odoo | AI app installed or not; provider and key set by the administrator in version 19 |
The practical consequence: in QuickBooks Online, the decision about AI is mainly a decision about who has access to the company file. In Business Central and NetSuite, an administrator can decide feature by feature.
What does each ERP and accounting system offer?
Each subsection below gives one system's built-in AI, its cost, where it processes data, how outside AI connects and what the interface for other software looks like, as stated on the vendor's pages on October 30, 2026. QuickBooks Online and Xero serve smaller companies; NetSuite, Business Central, Sage Intacct, SAP Business One and Odoo are ERP systems for growing and mid-sized companies. DATEV is included as the German example; the German edition of this article covers it in full, alongside Lexware Office and sevdesk.
QuickBooks Online (Intuit)
Intuit's help centre lists eight AI agents in QuickBooks Online as of October 2026: Accounting, Customer, Payments, Project Management, Finance, Payroll, Sales Tax and Business Tax.[1] Intuit introduced its agents on July 1, 2025 for US customers; the assistant is now called Intuit Intelligence and uses the company's data "to give custom insights".[2] Intuit's global page says the agents work in English and French only.[3]
- Cost: included, with a monthly chat allowance; $10 a month buys a larger one. AI report summaries need QuickBooks Online Advanced or Intuit Enterprise Suite.[2]
- AI and data: OpenAI and Anthropic are Intuit's partners; "our agreements explicitly prohibit the use of customer data for model training."[4] No processing location is stated.
- Outside AI: the QuickBooks app in ChatGPT is available to US Free, Plus and Pro accounts; the Claude connector is "available to US customers only" and can create invoices, estimates, customers and payment links.[5][6] Intuit also publishes an open-source server for QuickBooks Online that runs on your own computer.[7]
- Interface for other software: a REST interface with OAuth 2.0 sign-in, limited to 500 requests per minute and 10 per second per company.[8] Developers join the Intuit App Partner Program: Builder is free with 500,000 data-reading calls a month, Silver costs US$300 a month, Gold US$1,700 and Platinum US$4,500; writing data into QuickBooks is "unmetered and uncharged".[9]
Xero
Xero's assistant is JAX, "Just Ask Xero", which Xero says has "no additional charge" for the chat experience.[10] On September 3, 2025 Xero announced new JAX features including automated bank reconciliation.[11]
- AI and data: JAX uses "third-party providers like AWS, Microsoft Azure, GCP, OpenAI" and "doesn't use your data to train the LLMs it uses", meaning the AI models behind it.[10] No processing location is stated.
- Outside AI: the Claude integration went live on May 12, 2026 for anyone with an active Xero subscription; the Xero plugin in ChatGPT went live on September 16, 2026.[12][13] Xero publishes an open-source MCP server.[14]
- Interface for other software: since March 2, 2026, developers pay by tier, in Australian dollars excluding tax: Starter free for 5 connected organisations, Core A$35 a month for 50, Plus A$245 for 1,000, Advanced A$1,445 for 10,000, Enterprise on application.[15] Every tier is limited to 60 calls a minute and 5,000 a day (1,000 on Starter).[15]
- Rule on AI: Xero's developer terms state: "API Data cannot be used to train, fine tune, adapt, or enhance any AI Models."[16]
Oracle NetSuite
Oracle's help topic "NetSuite Features That Use AI" lists, as of October 2026, generative features such as Text Enhance, Narrative Insights, Case Summary, Prompt Studio, the Transaction Matching Assistant and the Item Creation Assistant, add-on apps such as Bill Capture, and a SuiteScript module for building AI into customisations.[17] Ask Oracle, part of NetSuite Next, is "being made available to customers in phases" and "is included with your NetSuite license".[18]
- Cost: 1,000 AI Units per month for each General Access user licence, with extra packs of 10,000 and 25,000 units; Oracle publishes no price for them.[19]
- AI and data: NetSuite reaches AI models "through an integration with the Oracle Cloud Infrastructure (OCI) Generative AI service"; data "is not used by third parties for model training" and "may be processed globally".[20]
- Switch-off: Text Enhance is enabled by default and can be disabled; Ask Oracle is granted per role.[21][18]
- Outside AI: the AI Connector Service supports "Claude Pro and ChatGPT" and "any client that supports the MCP protocol". It is free, its MCP Standard Tools SuiteApp is free, administrator roles cannot connect, and logs are kept 21 days in production.[22] The tools "don't provide any additional access beyond what your NetSuite role allows."[23]
- Interface for other software: REST and SOAP web services and RESTlets; a base of 5 simultaneous requests on Standard, 15 on Premium and 20 on Enterprise and Ultimate, plus 10 per SuiteCloud Plus licence.[24] OAuth 2.0 sign-in covers REST, not SOAP.[25]
Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central
Microsoft lists Copilot features and agents for Business Central online as of October 2026: the Sales Order Agent, the Payables Agent, the Expense Agent (preview), bank account reconciliation assist, analysis assist, autofill, marketing text suggestions, record summaries and e-document matching, available in all country versions.[27] Copilot is "at no extra cost"; the agents use Copilot Credits.[26][28]
- Language note: Microsoft's Payables Agent page says it is "validated and supported in English only", while the availability table also lists other languages.[27]
- AI and data: Azure OpenAI managed by Microsoft; data is not used to train models.[30] EU environments stay in the EU Data Boundary; "Allow data movement" is on by default.[29] From version 28, GPT-5.3-chat is the default model for agents.[31]
- Outside AI: one MCP server for every client, read-only by default; Claude and ChatGPT need their own app registration in Microsoft Entra with administrator consent.[32][33] Microsoft's release plan announced the public preview for October 31, 2025; a general-availability date is not stated.
- Interface for other software: REST API v2.0, on by default online, with service-to-service sign-in through Microsoft Entra; 6,000 requests per user in a five-minute window.[34]
Sage Intacct
Sage's Intacct help lists AP Automation, a Finance Intelligence agent, Close Automation, GL Outlier Detection, Intelligent Time, Expense Management and Search Help with Copilot as its AI features as of October 2026; GL Outlier Detection and Search Help are "included" with the subscription.[35] Release 2026 R2 (May 8, 2026) opened the Finance Intelligence agent to early adopters in Canada, the UK and the US.[36]
- AI and data: Sage's Copilot FAQ says query data is "primarily used to improve Copilot's performance" and kept for a limited time; chat history is kept up to 30 days.[37] Which AI it uses and where it runs are not stated on the pages read.
- Outside AI: the 2026 R2 release notes announce the Sage Intacct AI Gateway: "connectivity for AI applications through Sage Intacct REST API and MCP Server", in Australia, Canada, Singapore, South Africa, the UK and the US. No AI clients are named.[36]
- Interface for other software: web services that need a developer licence and a sender ID, which each company must authorise.[38]
- Coverage note: sage.com and Sage's developer portal refused automated reading on October 30, 2026, so Sage Accounting and Sage 50 are not covered here.
SAP Business One
SAP Business One's first documented generative AI arrived with feature package 2608, in the Web client only: Ask AI in nearly all list and detail views, and AI help to write database queries.[39] Ask AI "cannot read, query, update, create, or delete any SAP Business One data"; it answers from the data the user supplies and from general knowledge.[39]
- Cost and setup: the customer needs its own SAP BTP pay-as-you-go account with SAP AI Core and the generative AI hub; the model is "typically an OpenAI GPT model such as GPT-5".[40]
- AI and data: the customer chooses the SAP region, such as the EU, and "cannot change this later"; prompts and answers are written to the audit log.[40]
- Outside AI: from feature package 2608, SAP provides open-source MCP server sample code for the Service Layer, which asks the user to approve changes and masks personal data; the clients named are Cline, GitHub Copilot, Goose and MCP Inspector.[41]
- Interface for other software: the Service Layer (a web interface) and the DI API (a Windows component).[42]
Odoo
Odoo 19's AI app includes Ask AI, AI agents, AI fields, document sorting, AI server actions and text writing; the standard Ask AI agent "cannot make changes to the database".[43] The AI it uses is OpenAI or Google Gemini; on Odoo.sh and on-premise the customer brings its own key.[44]
- AI and data: for requests through Odoo's own service, information "is not stored and not used to train AI models" (privacy page updated September 22, 2026).[45] No processing location is stated.
- Cost: AI scanning of vendor bills and expenses is a paid in-app purchase; "Odoo Studio / Agentic AI" appears only in the Custom plan.[46]
- Interface for other software: "only available on Custom Odoo pricing plans"; the older XML-RPC and JSON-RPC interfaces are scheduled for removal in Odoo 22 (fall 2028), replaced by JSON-2.[47]
- Outside AI: no official MCP server or ChatGPT or Claude connection found; third-party modules exist in the Odoo app store.
DATEV (Germany)
DATEV, the German software cooperative of tax advisers, launched DATEV Copilot in May 2026, but "ausschließlich" for tax advisers and auditors, not for companies.[48][49] It runs "in einem von DATEV gehosteten Bereich bei Microsoft Azure", in a European data centre, and "weder Microsoft noch OpenAI" train on the data.[48]
- Interface for other software: DATEV's online data services are open to any software vendor with the user's consent; becoming a listed interface partner needs a data service used by at least 25 customers.[50][51]
- Outside AI: no official DATEV connection for ChatGPT, Claude or Copilot found. Microsoft's Copilot connector gallery lists a "Klardaten DATEV-Connector" published by Klardaten, a third party.[52]
How does outside software connect to an ERP or accounting system?
Through the system's interface, and often only on a particular plan or developer programme. As of October 30, 2026, Odoo opens its external interface only on its Custom plan, Intuit meters data-reading calls through four partner tiers from free to US$4,500 a month, Xero charges developers from free to A$1,445 a month, and NetSuite caps simultaneous requests by edition.[47][9][15][24] Every AI connection in this article, vendor-built or custom, runs through these interfaces.
| System | Interface | Plan or programme needed | Limit (vendor's figure) |
|---|---|---|---|
| QuickBooks Online | REST, GraphQL; OAuth 2.0 | Intuit App Partner Program tier | 500 requests/minute per company |
| Xero | REST; OAuth 2.0 | Developer tier by connections | 60 calls/minute, 5,000/day (1,000 on Starter) |
| NetSuite | REST, SOAP, RESTlets, SuiteQL | Edition; SuiteCloud Plus for more | 5–20 simultaneous requests, +10 per SuiteCloud Plus |
| Business Central | REST API v2.0 | Microsoft Entra app registration | 6,000 requests per user per 5 minutes |
| Sage Intacct | Web services, REST | Developer licence and sender ID | Not stated as a figure |
| SAP Business One | Service Layer, DI API | Not stated | Not stated |
| Odoo | JSON-2 (19.0), XML-RPC, JSON-RPC | Custom plan | Not stated |
Two things in that table catch companies out. A limit stated per company or per user decides how much an AI can read in one go: a year of transactions is many requests. And NetSuite will stop accepting new integrations that sign in with token-based authentication from release 2027.1, so anything built today should use OAuth 2.0.[25]
What happens to your data when outside AI connects to your ERP?
Data that an outside AI reads leaves the ERP vendor's terms and falls under the AI provider's. As of October 30, 2026, Oracle states it plainly for NetSuite: once authorised, data sent to an outside AI "is governed by the third-party LLM's privacy policy", while data inside NetSuite stays under Oracle's terms.[22] The same holds for every system here: Intuit's and Xero's statements cover their own features and their named partners, not every AI a user connects.
A vendor's "we don't train on your data" covers the vendor's own AI. When an employee connects ChatGPT or Claude to the books, the plan that employee uses decides what happens to the figures: a business plan with its own data terms, or a personal account.
Xero turns the question around for software builders. Its developer terms forbid using data from its interface "to train, fine tune, adapt, or enhance any AI Models", binding existing developers since March 2, 2026.[16] A custom system may still send Xero data to an AI to answer a question; it may not use that data to build or improve a model. The AI providers' own training rules by plan are compared in which AI providers train on business data.
What should you check before connecting AI to your books?
Seven checks settle most of the risk before any AI reads a ledger, and the vendors' own pages answer most of them. As of October 30, 2026, NetSuite recommends an approval process before any AI tool connects, because it "cannot control the behavior of external AI agents".[53] The list below applies to every system in this reference.
Which AI is already switched on
Where it processes data
What the connection may change
Whose account it signs in with
Which AI plan holds the data
Plan, programme and limits
What is metered
Check 4 is where most ERP connections go wrong; how to give an AI agent access to your data walks through it. The AI in your ERP checklist (PDF) repeats the seven checks beside the system table, and the CSV of systems and sources holds every fact with its vendor page.
When does connecting AI to your ERP need custom software?
When the work spans more than one system, or when the vendor's connection does not reach the step you need. As of October 30, 2026, the vendor-built connections answer questions and create single records inside one system; DATEV and Odoo have no official AI connection at all, and SAP Business One offers sample code rather than a finished service.[41][47] Matching a supplier email to an order in the ERP, checking it against the bank and preparing a booking for the tax adviser crosses three systems and two approvals.
That is where a connection becomes a build: an agent with its own account in each system, read access by default, write access only where someone has agreed it, and a person approving payments. Why such connections are harder than the demo suggests is the subject of why connecting AI agents to real systems is harder than it looks. What a custom agent is, and how it differs from the AI your vendor ships, is set out in what a custom AI agent is.
The vendors' AI keeps arriving in releases, so the facts here will move. Business Central and NetSuite change twice a year, Sage Intacct four times, QuickBooks continuously. The interfaces underneath change far more slowly, and they decide what any AI, built in or brought in, can actually do with your books.
Frequently asked questions
Can ChatGPT connect to QuickBooks? Yes. As of October 30, 2026, Intuit offers a QuickBooks app inside ChatGPT for US accounts, a QuickBooks connector for Claude for US customers, and an open-source QuickBooks Online server that lets other AI assistants connect. Intuit states that QuickBooks data is not used to train Claude, and that customer data is not shared with its AI partners to train their models.
How do you connect AI to NetSuite? Oracle NetSuite offers the AI Connector Service, a free service with a free SuiteApp called MCP Standard Tools. As of October 30, 2026, NetSuite says Claude Pro and ChatGPT are supported and that any AI assistant using the MCP standard can connect. The AI only sees what the NetSuite role it signs in with allows, and administrator roles are not allowed to connect.
What agents does Business Central Copilot include? Microsoft lists a Sales Order Agent, a Payables Agent and an Expense Agent (in preview) for Dynamics 365 Business Central as of October 2026, alongside Copilot features such as bank reconciliation assist, analysis assist and autofill. Copilot features are included in the licence; the agents are billed in Copilot Credits, for example 50 credits per invoice for the Payables Agent.
Is the AI in accounting software trained on my data? Most vendors say no. Intuit, Xero, Oracle NetSuite, Microsoft and Odoo each state that customer data is not used to train the AI models behind their features. Sage's Intacct Copilot FAQ says query data is used to improve Copilot's performance. Once an outside AI such as ChatGPT or Claude reads the data, that AI provider's own terms apply.
Notes
- Intuit, Overview of agents in QuickBooks Online, accessed October 30, 2026. Used for the eight agents and the switch-off statement.
- Intuit, Introducing Intuit Intelligence, updated October 21, 2026, accessed October 30, 2026. Used for the chat allowance, the $10 add-on and report summaries.
- Intuit QuickBooks, Meet your partner in business, accessed October 30, 2026. Used for "no additional cost" and the languages.
- Intuit, AI principles and the OpenAI and Anthropic partnerships, updated July 21, 2026, accessed October 30, 2026.
- Intuit, Intuit apps launch in ChatGPT, March 5, 2026, accessed October 30, 2026.
- Intuit, Use the QuickBooks connector for Claude, updated October 28, 2026, accessed October 30, 2026.
- Intuit on GitHub, QuickBooks Online MCP server, accessed October 30, 2026.
- Intuit Developer, Limits and throttles, accessed October 30, 2026.
- Intuit, App Partner Program guide (PDF), accessed October 30, 2026. Used for tiers, monthly fees and call allowances.
- Xero, JAX: AI in accounting, accessed October 30, 2026.
- Xero, JAX launches new features, September 3, 2025, accessed October 30, 2026.
- Xero, Xero delivers Claude integration, May 12, 2026, accessed October 30, 2026.
- Xero Blog, Claude for Small Business and ChatGPT integrations launch, September 16, 2026, accessed October 30, 2026.
- Xero on GitHub, Xero MCP server, accessed October 30, 2026.
- Xero Developer, Pricing, accessed October 30, 2026. Used for tiers, fees in AUD excluding tax, and call limits.
- Xero Developer Platform terms and conditions, updated December 4, 2025, accessed October 30, 2026. Clause 7(b)(i).
- Oracle NetSuite Help, NetSuite Features That Use AI, accessed October 30, 2026.
- Oracle NetSuite Help, Ask Oracle, accessed October 30, 2026.
- Oracle NetSuite Help, AI Units, accessed October 30, 2026; per-feature estimates from article_2163848930.
- Oracle NetSuite Help, Generative AI data handling, accessed October 30, 2026; Bill Capture location from article_3132707887.
- Oracle NetSuite Help, Text Enhance, accessed October 30, 2026; agent settings from article_8155834768.
- Oracle NetSuite Help, NetSuite AI Connector Service, accessed October 30, 2026.
- Oracle NetSuite Help, MCP Standard Tools, accessed October 30, 2026.
- Oracle NetSuite Help, Concurrency governance, accessed October 30, 2026.
- Oracle NetSuite Help, OAuth 2.0, accessed October 30, 2026; token-based authentication timeline from chapter_4247329078.
- Microsoft Learn, Copilot in Business Central overview, accessed October 30, 2026.
- Microsoft Learn, Copilot and agent availability by country/region and language, updated October 1, 2026, accessed October 30, 2026; Payables Agent language note from Payables Agent.
- Microsoft Learn, Manage consumption and billing for agents, accessed October 30, 2026.
- Microsoft Learn, Copilot data movement across geographies, accessed October 30, 2026.
- Microsoft Learn, Azure OpenAI data in Business Central, accessed October 30, 2026.
- Microsoft Learn, Configure Copilot and agent capabilities, updated October 2, 2026, accessed October 30, 2026.
- Microsoft Learn, Business Central MCP server overview, accessed October 30, 2026; preview date from the 2025 release wave 2 plan.
- Microsoft Learn, Use the MCP server with non-Microsoft clients, accessed October 30, 2026.
- Microsoft Learn, Operational limits for Business Central online, accessed October 30, 2026; service-to-service sign-in from automation APIs using S2S authentication.
- Sage Intacct Help, Get to know Sage AI, accessed October 30, 2026.
- Sage Intacct, 2026 Release 2 notes, accessed October 30, 2026.
- Sage Intacct Help, Copilot FAQ, accessed October 30, 2026; chat history from Copilot basics.
- Sage Intacct Developer, Web Services, accessed October 30, 2026.
- SAP Help, Ask AI (SAP Business One Web client, FP 2608), accessed October 30, 2026; release from What's New: Web Client.
- SAP Help, Setting up AI for SAP Business One Web client, accessed October 30, 2026.
- SAP Help, MCP server sample code for the Service Layer, accessed October 30, 2026.
- SAP Help, What's New: Platform and Extensibility, accessed October 30, 2026.
- Odoo 19.0 documentation, AI, accessed October 30, 2026; agents from AI agents.
- Odoo 19.0 documentation, AI API keys, accessed October 30, 2026.
- Odoo IAP, Privacy, updated September 22, 2026, accessed October 30, 2026.
- Odoo, Pricing plans, accessed October 30, 2026.
- Odoo 19.0 documentation, External API, accessed October 30, 2026.
- DATEV, DATEV Copilot, accessed October 30, 2026.
- DATEV, DATEV Copilot: Das kann der KI-Assistent heute, accessed October 30, 2026.
- DATEV, APIs im DATEV-Ökosystem, accessed October 30, 2026; data services from DATEV Schnittstellen-Anbieter.
- DATEV, Erste Schritte zum Partnerstatus, accessed October 30, 2026.
- Microsoft Learn, Microsoft 365 Copilot connectors gallery, updated September 30, 2026, accessed October 30, 2026.
- Oracle NetSuite Help, guidance on connecting external AI agents, accessed October 30, 2026.
