Data

Dialpad Connect with Dialpad AI and the GDPR: AI training, data location and DPA

Standard: Trains on your data unless you switch it off. EU hosting not documented · DPA on request.

Vendor: Dialpad, Inc.Phone and voiceChecked on How we check

Verdict

Is Dialpad Connect with Dialpad AI GDPR compliant?

Standard

Business

Trains on your data unless you switch it off

EU hosting not documented · DPA on request

Price: $15 / user / mo

No tool is GDPR compliant on its own: that depends on how your business uses it. This page shows the vendor's side, from its own pages. It is not legal advice.

Training

Does Dialpad Connect with Dialpad AI train on your data?

Trains on your data by default?

Checked

Trains on your data unless you switch it off.

Yes, unless training is switched off in Settings: Dialpad's AI guide says using Dialpad AI helps improve it with call audio and transcripts, and customers can opt out at any level.

Vendor's wording: “models behind them being trained on how our users actually use our products. (Mainly using portions of aggregated audio and transcripts from actual calls.)”

Source: assets.ctfassets.netDialpad Ai: How data is usedChecked on

Switch-off

How do you turn off AI training in Dialpad Connect with Dialpad AI?

How to switch training off

Checked

You can switch the training off.

Use the AI training election in Settings (it can be set from one person up to the whole company), or ask your Dialpad support contact or privacy@dialpad.com. Turning Dialpad Ai off for a call also removes that call from training.

Vendor's wording: “Go to Settings, or contact your customer support representative or privacy@dialpad with questions.”

Source: assets.ctfassets.netDialpad Ai: How data is usedChecked on

Location

Where does Dialpad Connect with Dialpad AI store your data?

Where data is stored by default

Checked

United States (Google Cloud Storage) by default, unless a Dialpad admin has selected a different region; Dialpad AI data used to improve the service is stored in the US on Google Cloud.

Vendor's wording: “are stored in the United States via Google Cloud Storage unless your Dialpad Services Administrator has selected a different region.”

Source: dialpad.comPrivacy policy: where is data storedSecond source: assets.ctfassets.netChecked on

Contract

Does Dialpad Connect with Dialpad AI sign a data processing agreement?

Data processing agreement (DPA)

Checked

DPA on request.

Yes. Customers can sign Dialpad's Data Processing Agreement with one click.

Vendor's wording: “Dialpad customers can sign a Data Processing Agreement (DPA) that addresses GDPR and beyond.”

Source: dialpad.comGDPRChecked on

Processors

Who else handles Dialpad Connect with Dialpad AI data?

EU–US Data Privacy Framework

Checked

On the list, under review.

Active (Dialpad; EU-US DPF, Swiss-US DPF, UK Extension, re-certification under review)

Source: dataprivacyframework.govSearch 'Dialpad'Checked on

Retention

How long does Dialpad Connect with Dialpad AI keep your data?

How long data is kept

Checked

Kept while the account is active; deleted automatically within 180 days after the account is closed. Customers can set a customizable retention policy that deletes data routinely.

Vendor's wording: “Upon closure of your account, Dialpad will automatically delete your data within 180 days of account termination.”

Source: dialpad.comData RetentionChecked on

Security

Which certifications and admin controls does Dialpad Connect with Dialpad AI have?

Security certifications

Checked

4 named: SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001:2022, ISO 27017:2015, ISO 27018:2019 (plus HIPAA-ready with a BAA).

Vendor's wording: “Dialpad’s infrastructure and processes are annually certified against ISO 27001:2022 (Information security management), ISO 27017:2015 (Information Security in the cloud), and ISO 27018:2019 (PII for public cloud processors).”

Source: dialpad.comIndustry complianceChecked on

Admin controls for AI

Vendor says

Yes: Dialpad AI access can be set at company and office level and down to individual employee phone numbers (per the vendor's AI guide; plan-level availability not stated).

Vendor's wording: “Dialpad gives you the option of setting access to Dialpad Ai features at the company and office level and as granularly as by individual employee phone numbers.”

Source: assets.ctfassets.netGrant access to Dialpad AiChecked on

The vendor doesn't say: EU hosting, sub-processors, price.

Alternatives

Dialpad Connect with Dialpad AI alternatives that don't train on your data

Other phone and voice tools whose business plan doesn't train on your data and includes a DPA.

The five marks, in order: No AI training · EU hosting · DPA · Sub-processors listed · DPF or EU vendor. ✓ meets it, ✕ doesn't, – partly, ? not stated.

Tool · PlanVerdictYour five rules
  • Crisp

    Essentials · $95 / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataData in the EU by default · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • RingCentral AI Receptionist

    standalone plan · $49 / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Synthflow

    Enterprise · $30,000 / yr

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA on request

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • BOTfriends X

    See details

    Doesn't train on your dataData in the EU by default · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓?✓

  • Parloa AI Agent Management Platform

    enterprise, consumption-based · See details

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓?✓

If no plan gives you the training default or data location you need, the tool may not be the right fit. We design and build what your team is missing around your own rules, and keep it running after launch.

See what we build

Need something your tools can't do?

We design and build what your team is missing, around the way you already work and the data rules you set.