Data

RingCentral AI Receptionist and the GDPR: AI training, data location and DPA

standalone plan: Doesn't train on your data. EU hosting available · DPA in the terms.

Vendor: RingCentral, Inc.Phone and voiceChecked on How we check

Verdict

Is RingCentral AI Receptionist GDPR compliant?

standalone plan

Business

Doesn't train on your data

EU hosting available · DPA in the terms

Price: $49 / mo

No tool is GDPR compliant on its own: that depends on how your business uses it. This page shows the vendor's side, from its own pages. It is not legal advice.

Training

Does RingCentral AI Receptionist train on your data?

Trains on your data by default?

Checked

Doesn't train on your data.

No: RingCentral states it does not use customer personal data to train its models and does not let its third-party AI providers do so (AI Receptionist privacy datasheet)

Vendor's wording: “RingCentral does not use customer personal data to train its models. RingCentral does not allow third parties to use customer personal data to train their AI models.”

Source: assets.ringcentral.comUse of Artificial IntelligenceSecond source: assets.ringcentral.comChecked on

Location

Where does RingCentral AI Receptionist store your data?

Where data is stored by default

Checked

Depends on the account location: US accounts store everything in the US; UK accounts in the UK or Germany (service and usage data also in the US); accounts in Europe store customer-generated content, including call recordings, in Germany, with service account and usage data in the US and Germany

Vendor's wording: “RingCentral stores personal data as part of the Services located in the following countries.”

Source: assets.ringcentral.comLocation of Data Storage (table)Checked on

EU hosting on this plan

Checked

EU hosting available.

Yes, by account location: an account set up in Europe keeps customer-generated content in Germany; service account and usage data are held in the US and Germany. Some AI providers process in the US (e.g. xAI, Cartesia) and OpenAI in the US or Ireland per customer setting

Vendor's wording: “RingCentral stores personal data as part of the Services located in the following countries.”

Source: assets.ringcentral.comLocation of Data Storage (table)Second source: ringcentral.comChecked on

Contract

Does RingCentral AI Receptionist sign a data processing agreement?

Data processing agreement (DPA)

Checked

DPA in the terms.

Yes: the AI Receptionist datasheet says processing RingCentral does for customers is governed by the RingCentral Data Processing Addendum, incorporated into the Master Service Agreement; the DPA is published (Aug 2026 version)

Vendor's wording: “governed by the RingCentral Data Processing Addendum incorporated into the RingCentral Master Service Agreement.”

Source: assets.ringcentral.comIntro paragraph (processor activities)Second source: assets.ringcentral.comChecked on

Processors

Who else handles RingCentral AI Receptionist data?

Sub-processors (companies that handle the data for them)

Checked

Published.

Yes, public: https://www.ringcentral.com/legal/dpa-subprocessor-list.html (header "updated 01-23-26", change log to 8 Oct 2026). 52 rows (38 main list + 14 partner-programme); 13 rows (10 companies) name AI Receptionist: OpenAI, Google (4 rows), Microsoft, AWS, xAI, Deepgram, ElevenLabs, FireworksAI, Cartesia, ClickHouse

Vendor's wording: “RingCentral may use RingCentral’s affiliates or one or more of the following entities as subprocessors”

Source: ringcentral.comPage header and product columnsChecked on

EU–US Data Privacy Framework

Checked

On the list.

Active (RingCentral Inc.; EU-US DPF, Swiss-US DPF, UK Extension)

Source: dataprivacyframework.govSearch 'RingCentral'Checked on

Retention

How long does RingCentral AI Receptionist keep your data?

How long data is kept

Checked

After cancellation the account is disabled at the end of the billing cycle and deleted within 30 days. Every AI Receptionist call is recorded and transcribed; how long recordings are kept is not stated. AI vendors get a zero-data-retention setup where available

Vendor's wording: “Once the account is disabled, the account will be deleted within 30 days, unless otherwise agreed with our customer.”

Source: assets.ringcentral.comData Deletion and RetentionSecond source: assets.ringcentral.comChecked on

Security

Which certifications and admin controls does RingCentral AI Receptionist have?

Security certifications

Checked

Listed for RingEX (AI Receptionist is an add-on to it): ISO 27001, ISO 27017, ISO 27018, ISO 22301, SOC 2, SOC 3 and C5 (BSI) = 7. The page does not say whether AI Receptionist itself is in scope

Vendor's wording: “RingCentral maintains a comprehensive set of compliance certifications and attestations to protect our customers’ data and communications.”

Source: ringcentral.comExisting certifications and documentationChecked on

Admin controls for AI

Checked

Partly: customer system administrators activate AI Receptionist and add or remove the lines it answers; no separate organisation-wide AI policy switch is described

Vendor's wording: “Customer system administrators activate RingCentral AIR and can add or remove lines to which the Service responds.”

Source: assets.ringcentral.comData SubjectsChecked on

The vendor doesn't say: price.

Alternatives

RingCentral AI Receptionist alternatives that don't train on your data

Other phone and voice tools whose business plan doesn't train on your data and includes a DPA.

The five marks, in order: No AI training · EU hosting · DPA · Sub-processors listed · DPF or EU vendor. ✓ meets it, ✕ doesn't, – partly, ? not stated.

Tool · PlanVerdictYour five rules
  • Crisp

    Essentials · $95 / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataData in the EU by default · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Synthflow

    Enterprise · $30,000 / yr

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA on request

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • BOTfriends X

    See details

    Doesn't train on your dataData in the EU by default · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓?✓

  • Parloa AI Agent Management Platform

    enterprise, consumption-based · See details

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓?✓

  • Placetel AI

    Grow · See details

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting not documented · DPA on request

    ✓?✓✓✓

Need something your tools can't do?

We design and build what your team is missing, around the way you already work and the data rules you set.