Data

Placetel AI and the GDPR: AI training, data location and DPA

Grow: Doesn't train on your data. EU hosting not documented · DPA on request.

Vendor: Gamma Placetel GmbHPhone and voiceChecked on How we check

Verdict

Is Placetel AI GDPR compliant?

Grow

Business

Doesn't train on your data

EU hosting not documented · DPA on request

Price: See details

No tool is GDPR compliant on its own: that depends on how your business uses it. This page shows the vendor's side, from its own pages. It is not legal advice.

Training

Does Placetel AI train on your data?

Trains on your data by default?

Checked

Doesn't train on your data.

No: the service description says customer data is not used for training, improving, fine-tuning or optimising the AI or its internal models

Vendor's wording: “Es werden keine Kunden- / Mandantendaten für Trainings-, Verbesserungs-, Feinjustierungs- bzw. Optimierungszwecke der KI und/oder von systeminternen Modellen genutzt.”

Source: downloads.placetel.deSection 2.3 Datenmanagement und MandantentrennungChecked on

Location

Where does Placetel AI store your data?

Where data is stored by default

Checked

EU: the Placetel AI platform is operated by sub-processor Miyon AG with hosting in the EU (country not stated); Placetel's phone platform is hosted in Frankfurt, Germany

Vendor's wording: “Unterstützungsleistungen bei AVV, Hosting in EU Miyon AG der Einrichtung, der Placetel AI”

Source: downloads.placetel.deSubunternehmer table, row Miyon AGChecked on

EU hosting on this plan

Checked

EU hosting not documented.

Platform operator Miyon AG hosts Placetel AI in the EU (no setting needed). The service description also names OpenAI ChatGPT among the integrated models without saying where it runs; customers may use their own OpenAI key "for desired data sovereignty"

Vendor's wording: “Optional können Kunden einen eigenen OpenAI API-Schlüssel bei gewünschter Daten- hoheit verwenden.”

Source: downloads.placetel.deSection 2.1 IntegrationenChecked on

Contract

Does Placetel AI sign a data processing agreement?

Data processing agreement (DPA)

Checked

DPA on request.

Yes: Placetel publishes a data processing agreement (AVV) that applies to its services; for Placetel AI the platform operator Miyon AG has its own AVV (Anlage 2)

Vendor's wording: “Die Anlage AVV kommt zur Anwendung für alle Leistungen und Leistungsteile des Auftraggebers”

Source: downloads.placetel.de§1 Einleitung, GeltungsbereichChecked on

Processors

Who else handles Placetel AI data?

Sub-processors (companies that handle the data for them)

Checked

Published.

Yes, public in the AVV: https://downloads.placetel.de/legal/placetel_adv.pdf lists 12 sub-processors (all products); Miyon AG is the one for Placetel AI, Google Ireland hosts applications; OpenAI is not listed though the service description names ChatGPT

Vendor's wording: “werden unter Einschaltung folgender Subunternehmer durchgeführt”

Source: downloads.placetel.de§ Subunternehmer tableChecked on

EU–US Data Privacy Framework

Checked

EU or Swiss vendor.

Not applicable (German vendor, Gamma Placetel GmbH, Köln)

Vendor's wording: “Dienstanbieter ist die Gamma Placetel GmbH, Lothringer Straße 56, 50677 Köln.”

Source: placetel.deDatenschutzerklärung, DienstanbieterChecked on

Retention

How long does Placetel AI keep your data?

How long data is kept

Checked

The customer sets it in 'Einstellungen': keep transcripts permanently, keep none, delete right after post-processing, or auto-delete after 1 day, 2 days, 3 days, 1 week, 2 weeks or 30 days

Vendor's wording: “Automatische Löschung nach Zeitraum: Transkripte werden nach Ablauf eines vom User individuell definierten Zeitraums automatisiert vom System entfernt.”

Source: downloads.placetel.deSection 2.4 KonfigurationChecked on

Security

Which certifications and admin controls does Placetel AI have?

Security certifications

Checked

1 named: ISO 27001 (data centres used by the Placetel platform); the AI service description only says ISO 27001 updates are implemented, without naming a certificate for the AI platform

Vendor's wording: “Alle Rechenzentren sind ISO 27001 zertifiziert.”

Source: downloads.placetel.deSection on RechenzentrenChecked on

Price

What does Placetel AI cost?

Price, as shown in Germany

Checked

See details.

79 EUR per month on the monthly-cancellable term, 69 EUR with a 24-month term (Grow, 750 minutes incl.), plus 9 EUR per month for the required AI phone number; VAT basis not shown

Vendor's wording: “Placetel AI ist bereits ab 69 € pro Monat verfügbar.”

Source: placetel.deGrow plan card; FAQ 1 and 4Checked on

The vendor doesn't say: admin controls.

Alternatives

Placetel AI alternatives that don't train on your data

Other phone and voice tools whose business plan doesn't train on your data and includes a DPA.

The five marks, in order: No AI training · EU hosting · DPA · Sub-processors listed · DPF or EU vendor. ✓ meets it, ✕ doesn't, – partly, ? not stated.

Tool · PlanVerdictYour five rules
  • Crisp

    Essentials · $95 / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataData in the EU by default · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • RingCentral AI Receptionist

    standalone plan · $49 / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Synthflow

    Enterprise · $30,000 / yr

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA on request

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • BOTfriends X

    See details

    Doesn't train on your dataData in the EU by default · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓?✓

  • Parloa AI Agent Management Platform

    enterprise, consumption-based · See details

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓?✓

Need something your tools can't do?

We design and build what your team is missing, around the way you already work and the data rules you set.