Data

Lime Connect, formerly Userlike and the GDPR: AI training, data location and DPA

Pro: Says it doesn't train on your data. EU hosting not documented · DPA on request.

Vendor: Lime Connect (Userlike) GmbH, Cologne (Lime Technologies AB group)Phone and voiceChecked on How we check

Verdict

Is Lime Connect, formerly Userlike GDPR compliant?

Pro

Business

Says it doesn't train on your data

EU hosting not documented · DPA on request

Price: See details

No tool is GDPR compliant on its own: that depends on how your business uses it. This page shows the vendor's side, from its own pages. It is not legal advice.

Training

Does Lime Connect, formerly Userlike train on your data?

Trains on your data by default?

Vendor says

Says it doesn't train on your data.

No (vendor statement): chat data is not used for external AI training without an appropriate legal basis; a feature box says it is never used to train external AI models. Training by Lime Connect itself is not addressed.

Vendor's wording: “No. At Lime Connect, customer data from chats are not used for external AI training without an appropriate legal basis.”

Source: connect.lime-technologies.comFAQ: Are customer data used to train AI models?Checked on

Location

Where does Lime Connect, formerly Userlike store your data?

Where data is stored by default

Checked

Germany: all communication data is stored on servers in Germany.

Vendor's wording: “All communication data is stored exclusively within Europe, specifically on servers located in Germany.”

Source: connect.lime-technologies.comFAQ: Where is data storedChecked on

EU hosting on this plan

Checked

EU hosting not documented.

Included by default: data is stored only in Germany/Europe; no setting needed.

Vendor's wording: “All communication data is stored exclusively within Europe, specifically on servers located in Germany.”

Source: connect.lime-technologies.comFAQ: Where is data storedChecked on

Contract

Does Lime Connect, formerly Userlike sign a data processing agreement?

Data processing agreement (DPA)

Checked

DPA on request.

Yes. A DPA is available on request via a form on the data-privacy page (Data Protection Officer replies in 1-2 working days) and includes the sub-processor list.

Vendor's wording: “Data Processing Agreement (DPA) available on request, including a full list of sub-processors”

Source: connect.lime-technologies.comIndependently audited sectionChecked on

Processors

Who else handles Lime Connect, formerly Userlike data?

EU–US Data Privacy Framework

Checked

EU or Swiss vendor.

Not applicable (EU-based vendor, Lime Connect (Userlike) GmbH, Cologne)

Vendor's wording: “Lime Connect (Userlike) GmbH Kölnturm, Im Mediapark 8 50670 Köln”

Source: connect.lime-technologies.comImprintChecked on

Retention

How long does Lime Connect, formerly Userlike keep your data?

How long data is kept

Checked

You set an expiry date: chat transcripts and messages are deleted automatically after the period you choose; conversations can also be exported or deleted manually. If the account is deleted, its data is deleted automatically.

Vendor's wording: “you can set an expiry date on your data. This means that your customer data (chat transcripts, messages) will be automatically deleted after a time set by you.”

Source: connect.lime-technologies.comAutomatic data deletionChecked on

Security

Which certifications and admin controls does Lime Connect, formerly Userlike have?

Security certifications

Vendor says

1 named: ISO 27001 (the servers where data is stored are ISO 27001-certified; Lime Connect's own certification is not claimed). No SOC 2 named.

Vendor's wording: “All data is stored on ISO 27001-certified servers. Independently audited and regularly renewed.”

Source: connect.lime-technologies.comISO 27001 Certified boxChecked on

Admin controls for AI

Checked

Partly: Connect AI Agent and Copilot are separate paid add-ons (so AI is off unless bought), and admins decide which requests AI handles and when a human takes over.

Vendor's wording: “you decide what gets automated, what data is processed, and when a human steps in”

Source: connect.lime-technologies.comYou're in control of the AIChecked on

Price

What does Lime Connect, formerly Userlike cost?

Price, as shown in Germany

Checked

See details.

From 105 EUR per month billed monthly, or 87 EUR per month billed annually, excluding VAT (Pro; minimum 3 seats). AI Agent add-on from 99 EUR per month. Whether the price is per seat is not stated.

Vendor's wording: “Multi-channel customer communication, enhanced by AI. From 105 € /month* 87 € /month*”

Source: connect.lime-technologies.comPro cardChecked on

The vendor doesn't say: sub-processors.

Alternatives

Lime Connect, formerly Userlike alternatives that don't train on your data

Other phone and voice tools whose business plan doesn't train on your data and includes a DPA.

The five marks, in order: No AI training · EU hosting · DPA · Sub-processors listed · DPF or EU vendor. ✓ meets it, ✕ doesn't, – partly, ? not stated.

Tool · PlanVerdictYour five rules
  • Crisp

    Essentials · $95 / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataData in the EU by default · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • RingCentral AI Receptionist

    standalone plan · $49 / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Synthflow

    Enterprise · $30,000 / yr

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA on request

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • BOTfriends X

    See details

    Doesn't train on your dataData in the EU by default · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓?✓

  • Parloa AI Agent Management Platform

    enterprise, consumption-based · See details

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓?✓

Need something your tools can't do?

We design and build what your team is missing, around the way you already work and the data rules you set.