Data

Automation tools and the GDPR: 9 checked

9 tools, 2 of which don't train on your data, keep it in the EU and include a DPA. From the vendors' own pages.

Checked on

Tools

Which automation tool is GDPR compliant?

Each tool's business plan where there is one, against your five rules. 4 tools without a page of their own open their answers with “Show answers”.

The five marks, in order: No AI training · EU hosting · DPA · Sub-processors listed · DPF or EU vendor. ✓ meets it, ✕ doesn't, – partly, ? not stated.

Tool · PlanVerdictYour five rules
  • Activepieces

    Team · $200 / mo

    Says it doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA not stated

    ✓✓??✕

  • Bardeen

    Premium · $50 / mo

    Doesn't say whether it trains on your dataEU hosting not documented · DPA not stated

    ????✕

    Show answers
    Where data is stored by default

    Not fixed: the privacy policy says data can be processed and stored anywhere in the world, including the United States. The security page says app data stays in the browser and only automations and connected-app settings are stored on Bardeen servers.

    “All personal information processed by us may be transferred, processed, and stored anywhere in the world, including, but not limited to, the United States”

    Source: bardeen.ai · Checked on

    EU–US Data Privacy Framework

    Not listed.

    No listing found for search term 'Bardeen'

    Source: dataprivacyframework.gov · Checked on

    How long data is kept

    Kept while you use the service or as needed for legal and business purposes; you can remove all data from the settings page, and data from third-party APIs is not retained.

    “for as long as you use our Services, or as necessary to fulfill the purpose(s) for which it was collected”

    Source: bardeen.ai · Checked on

    Security certifications

    Two named: SOC 2 Type 2 (since 1 April 2024) and CASA Tier 2 and Tier 3; a GDPR checklist is also mentioned.

    “As of April 1, 2024, we are proud to announce our compliance with the AICPA SOC 2 Type 2 standards”

    Source: bardeen.ai · Checked on

  • IFTTT

    Pro+ · $8.99 / mo

    Doesn't say whether it trains on your dataNo EU hosting · DPA not stated

    ?✕??✕

    Show answers
    Where data is stored by default

    United States: the service is hosted and operated in the US by IFTTT and its service providers.

    “The Service is hosted and operated in the United States”

    Source: ifttt.com · Checked on

    EU hosting on this plan

    No EU hosting.

    No EU option stated; the policy says personal data is provided to IFTTT in the US and hosted on US servers.

    “is being provided to IFTTT in the U.S. and will be hosted on U.S. servers”

    Source: ifttt.com · Checked on

    EU–US Data Privacy Framework

    Not listed.

    No listing found for search term 'IFTTT'

    Source: dataprivacyframework.gov · Checked on

    How long data is kept

    Personal data is kept while the account is open (longer where law requires). You can delete the account from your profile ('delete my account') or by request form.

    “We retain Personal Data about you for as long as you have an open account with us”

    Source: ifttt.com · Checked on

  • Make

    Teams · $29 / user / mo

    Doesn't say whether it trains on your dataEU hosting available · DPA on request

    ?✓✓✓✓

    Show answers
    Where data is stored by default

    Chosen per organisation at creation: EU (Ireland; Germany for Enterprise) or US; it cannot be changed later

    Source: help.make.com · Checked on

    EU hosting on this plan

    EU hosting available.

    Yes, when the organisation is created

    Source: help.make.com · Checked on

    Data processing agreement (DPA)

    DPA on request.

    Yes. Celonis DPA for Make (last modified 3 May 2024) forms part of the agreement

    Source: make.com · Checked on

    Sub-processors (companies that handle the data for them)

    12 listed.

    Public (effective 12 Dec 2025): 18 third parties; AI services OpenAI, Anthropic, Google and Groq (US hosting) and Microsoft (France), used for customers who use AI features

    Source: assets.ctfassets.net · Checked on

    EU–US Data Privacy Framework

    On the list.

    Active (Celonis Inc; EU-US, Swiss-US, UK Extension); Make itself is run by Celonis entities in the EU

    Source: dataprivacyframework.gov · Checked on

    How long data is kept

    Log data is stored for 30 days by default; longer storage is offered on Enterprise. Run history length depends on the plan

    Source: make.com · Checked on

    Security certifications

    SOC 2 Type II and SOC 3 audits completed; GDPR adherence. No ISO certification listed

    Source: make.com · Checked on

  • Microsoft Power Automate

    Premium · €13.00 / user / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting available · DPA in the terms

    ✓✓✓?✓

  • n8n Cloud

    Pro · €50 / mo

    Doesn't train on your dataData in the EU by default · DPA on request

    ✓✓✓✓✓

  • Pipedream

    Startup · $99 / mo

    Doesn't say whether it trains on your dataEU hosting not documented · DPA in the terms

    ??✓✓–

    Show answers
    Where data is stored by default

    United States: hosted on Amazon Web Services in the us-east-1 region.

    “Pipedream is hosted on the Amazon Web Services (AWS) platform in the us-east-1 region.”

    Source: pipedream.com · Checked on

    Data processing agreement (DPA)

    DPA in the terms.

    Yes. A Data Protection Addendum with Standard Contractual Clauses is part of the standard Terms of Service.

    “includes a Data Protection Addendum as part of our standard Terms of Service.”

    Source: pipedream.com · Checked on

    Sub-processors (companies that handle the data for them)

    11 listed.

    Public list at https://pipedream.com/docs/subprocessors: 11 entries (updated 20 Aug 2025). AI providers: Anthropic and OpenAI (AI services), Langfuse (AI application monitoring).

    “Below, you’ll find a list of Pipedream’s Subprocessors in our capacity as a Processor”

    Source: pipedream.com · Checked on

    EU–US Data Privacy Framework

    Parent company listed.

    Not listed under its own name (Pipedream, Inc.); its parent Workday, Inc. is active (EU-US DPF, Swiss-US DPF, UK Extension)

    Source: dataprivacyframework.gov · Checked on

    How long data is kept

    Code and configuration are kept until you delete them; event data and logs follow the retention rules on your account; backups of deleted customer data are cleared within 30 days.

    “Pipedream deletes customer data in backups within 30 days.”

    Source: pipedream.com · Checked on

    Security certifications

    One named: SOC 2 Type 2 (report on request). GDPR compliance is also stated; no ISO certification is named.

    “Pipedream has demonstrated SOC 2 compliance and can provide a SOC 2 Type 2 report upon request”

    Source: pipedream.com · Checked on

  • Tray.ai

    Pro · Quote only

    Doesn't train on your dataEU hosting not documented · DPA in the terms

    ✓?✓✓✓

  • Zapier

    Team (+1) · From €63.09 / mo

    Trains on your data unless you switch it offNo EU hosting · DPA in the terms

    ✕✕✓✓✓

Example

Zapier, plan by plan

Free

Free

Trains on your data unless you switch it off

No EU hosting · DPA in the terms

Price: Free

Team

Business

Trains on your data unless you switch it off

No EU hosting · DPA in the terms

Price: From €63.09 / mo

See all answers: Zapier
Shortlist

Which automation tool keeps data in the EU?

Need something your tools can't do?

We design and build what your team is missing, around the way you already work and the data rules you set.

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

1 of 9 train on your data on the plan shown, unless someone switches it off: Zapier.